Poland Count On Gortat, Lampe

27 May 2014
Maciej Lampe (Poland)
The inclusion of Maciej Lampe's name on the Polish preliminary roster is a major boost to Poland's hopes of returning to EuroBasket

Star big men Marcin Gortat and Maciej Lampe have been included in a 25-strong group of players which Poland head coach Mike Taylor will involve in EuroBasket 2015 2nd Qualifying Round.

Gortat, who is coming off a spectacular season with the Washington Wizards and is now a free-agent in the NBA has yet to proclaim publicly his availability for national team duty this summer, although reports in the USA have suggested the center hinted at an absence.

National teams that participate in August's qualifiers can field a different 12-man squad in each game, which enables coaches to involve players at their discretion.

Veteran point guard Lukasz Koszarek and promising youngsters Mateusz Ponitka and Przemyslaw Karnowski are also included in Poland's preliminary group of players.

The most notable absences from the Polish team that competed in EuroBasket 2013 are power forward Michal Ignerski, who turns 34 in August and has decided to terminate his national team career, as well as shooting guard Michal Chylinski.

Taylor has opted to include in the list both veteran Thomas Kelati and David Logan, but the two guards are not eligible to coincide in the same game as they are both naturalised Polish citizens.

"I am very excited about these nominations", Taylor, who assumed the reins of the Polish team last January, commented.

"I believe that we can create a good team that reaches the goal of qualifying to EuroBasket 2015.

"We want to build a team of which Poland will be proud."

Polish national team manager Marcin Widomski underlined that, should the need arise, other players could be added to this preliminary list later in the summer.

Taylor also announced that his staff will consist of Polish league coaches Andrzej Adamek, Mariusz Niedbalski, Pawel Turkiewicz and Arkadiusz Miloszewski, as well as his fellow American William Voigt.

Niedbalski and Miloszewski will join the senior team's coaching staff after the conclusion of the U18 and U20 European championships, respectively.

"I've travelled extensively throughout Poland and met many coaches in recent weeks," Taylor explained.

"I have had many interesting conversations and I would like to thank all of them for their interest.

"In the end I picked the coaches whom I believe they best suit the team that I would like to build and will have an impact on the success of the national team."

Poland were drawn in Group C of the 2nd Qualifying Round, together with Germany, Austria and Luxembourg.

Poland's preliminary squad includes: Michal Chylinski, Olek Czyz, Jakub Dloniak, Tomasz Gielo, Marcin Gortat, Adam Hrycaniuk, Przemyslaw Karnowski, Thomas Kelati, Lukasz Koszarek, Damian Kulig, Maciej Lampe, Pawel Leonczyk, David Logan, Kamil Laczynski, Michal Michalak, Jaroslaw Mokros, Piotr Pamula, Mateusz Ponitka, Michal Sokolowski, Szymon Szewczyk, Krzysztof Szubarga, Tomasz Snieg, Adam Waczynski, Lukasz Wisniewski, Przemyslaw Zamojski.


28.08.2014 - EUROBASKET 2015 2nd QR
28.08.2014 - EUROBASKET 2015 2ND QR
28.08.2014 - EUROBASKET 2015 2nd QR

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook