Montenegro Coach Reveals Candidates

28 January 2014
7. Jelena Dubljevic (ZVVZ USK Prague)
Jelena Dubljevic will be the centre-piece for a Montenegrin side hoping to return to the biggest stage in European women's basketball

Newly installed Montenegro coach Momir Milatovic has revealed the list of 26 candidates he will look to utilise in the quest to punch a ticket for EuroBasket Women 2015.

The play-caller has jumped into the hot-seat to succeed veteran Miodrag Baletic, who took the team to successive Final Round appearances including a historical first ever spot at the tournament during 2011 in Poland.

Montenegro bowed out in the Second Round at EuroBasket Women 2013 in France last year and will now turn a new page in their short, but impressive basketball history.

Milatovic will go up against Finland, Germany and Ukraine in the EuroBasket Women 2nd Qualifying Tournament this summer and his team will be strong favourites to advance.

The shape of the roster is largely unchanged and includes several EuroLeague Women and EuroCup Women stars, including no fewer than three players from ZVVZ USK Prague.

Marquee player Jelena Dubljevic is joined by recent signing Ana Pocek, whilst Milka Bjelica remains on board, having posed doubts as to her future participation after being handed only limited court-time last year in France.

Veteran guard Jelena Skerovic will continue pulling the strings and could be joined in the backcourt again by Snezana Aleksic who has impressed with Chevakata Vologda of late.

Frontcourt duo Iva Perovanovic and Milica Jovanovic are both playing in the Turkish League with Besiktas and Orduspor respectively and should be integral parts of the final national team selection, whilst naturalised guard Eshaya Murphy returns having torn it up for Perfumerias Avenida this season.

The full roster is as follows: Jelena Škerović (CCC Polkowice), Snežana Aleksić (Chevakata Vologda), Božica Mujović (Budućnost), Jelena Ćulafić (Šumadija), Sanja Knežević (ZTE NKK), Milica Milošev (Budućnost), Milica Jovanović (Orduspor), Ana Baletić (Spisska Nova Ves), Milka Bjelica (ZVVZ USK Prague), Eshaya Murphy (Perfumerias Avenida), Jelena Dubljević (ZVVZ USK Prague), Iva Perovanović (Besiktas), Ana Poček (ZVVZ USK Prague), Kristina Raković (Šumadija), Nataša Popović ( Levski), Marina Vučetić (Budućnost), Milena Bajić (Budućnost), Aleksandra Vujović (Alimentos de Zamora), Biljana Pavićević (Montana 2003), Nikolina Popović (Montana 2003) Jovana Pašić (Partizan), Jelena Vučetić (Partizan), Aleksandra Dobrović (Hemofarm), Biljana Turčinović (Roling), Jasmina Bigović (Čelik), Živana Janković (Budućnost)


13.06.2015 - EUROBASKET WOMEN 2015
19.03.2015 - FEATURE
26.06.2014 - PRESS RELEASES

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook