Mrsic Heads All Star Day Shootout

11 April 2005

FIBA Europe announced today the six-man line up for the FIBA Europe League All-Star Day three-point shootout. The All-Star Day takes place on 14th April in Nicosia, Cyprus.

Leading the field will be veteran guard, Damir Mrsic (Fenerbahce). Showing no signs of slowing down at the age of 34, Mrsic has been the catalyst for Fenerbahce's charge into the FIBA Europe League Final Four.

Shammond Williams (UNICS Kazan)
Shammond Williams (UNICS Kazan)
Mrsic was at his dominant best against fellow Turkish side Besiktas in the quarter-final play-offs, averaging 26 points in the 3-game series. In game three, Mrsic exploded for 37 points, and for the series, shot 45% from three-point range (17/37).

He is shooting 44% from behind the arc this season, good for 20th overall among all players.

Mrsic will be joined in the shootout by BC Kyiv forward Marcelo Nicola, Besiktas guard Khalid El-Amin and UNICS Kazan guard, Shammond Williams.

Statistically speaking, Williams is the top three-point shooter of the four, and has made 47.1% of his attempts this season.

Nicola has also been dangerous for Kyiv, shooting 43.9% from long range, while El-Amin, the top scorer among all participants (20.4 ppg) has made 35.5%.

The six man field is rounded out by two local participants in Panagiotis Serdaris (Dentalcon Apoel) and Nikolas Papadopoulos (Intercollege Etha Engomi).

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook

Contern, LUX
Larnaca, CYP
Limassol, CYP
Giessen, GER
Saratov, RUS
Steinsel, LUX
Ettelbruck, LUX
Brno, CZE
Khimki, Moscow Region, RUS
Zagreb, CRO
Istanbul, TUR
Opava, CZE
Ankara, TUR
Funchal, POR
Siroki Brijeg, BIH
Prague, CZE
Zagreb, CRO
s'Hertogenbosch, NED
Chalon-sur-Saone, FRA
Nicosia, CYP
Ekaterinburg, RUS
Porto, POR
Kadiköy-Istanbul, TUR
Valladolid, ESP
Serravalle, SMR
Ljubljana, SLO
Maroussi-Athens, GRE
Trier, GER
Fuenlabrada, ESP
Vrsac, YUG
Kaposvar, HUN
Zagreb, CRO
Leskovac, YUG
Liege, BEL
Krasnodar, RUS
Pravets , BUL
Tbilisi, GEO
Ramat Gan, ISR
Raanana, ISR
Pruszkow, POL
Novy Jicin, CZE
Kapfenberg, AUT
Thessaloniki, GRE
Levallois, FRA
Lasko, SLO
Sopot, POL
Luxembourg, LUX
Roseto Degli Abruzzi, ITA
Dijon, FRA
Verona, ITA
Nancy, FRA
Braunschweig, GER
Mons, BEL
Leverkusen, GER
Oliveira de Azeméis, POR
St. Pölten, AUT
Mechelen, BEL
Arad, ROU
Klagenfurt, AUT
Faetano, SMR
Zenica, BIH