Bauermann Trims Squad

01 July 2013
8. Piotr Pamula (Poland)
Piotr Pamula helped Poland through their qualification campaign for EuroBasket 2013 but appears to be excess to their needs for the main event

New Polish head coach Dirk Bauermann has trimmed his squad for EuroBasket 2013 to 17 players who will report for camp on 23 July.

The list, which was released over the weekend, sees four players removed from the initial 21-man squad.

The four players initially named in the squad but have missed the first cut are Alexander Czyz (Acea Roma), Jakub Dloniak (Tarnobrzeg), Piotr Pamula (Asseco Prokom Gdynia) and Jakub Wojciechowski (PMS Torino).

"Selecting the first players is always difficult," said Bauermann on the Polish Basketball Federation website, continuing, "We were in the United States, Italy and Spain. We met with the basketball players and watched their games. We wanted these players to show that they can help the Polish national team to success this year."

Of most interest to Polish fans is that Marcin Gortat remains in the squad - a promising sign that he will renege on earlier comments that he will not play in this summer's showcase event.

Prior to September, Poland will play warm-up games against Italy, Georgia and Israel in a tournament in Italy from 7th-9th August; at home against Spain on 13th August; again against Italy and Israel in a four-team tournament being hosted by Belgium from 23rd-25th August; before finishing their preparations by taking on Great Britain, Sweden and Ukraine in a tournament in Ljubljana from the 23rd-25th July.

17 Remaining Players in Polish Squad:

Michael Chylinski (PGE Turow); Tomasz Gielo (Liberty, NCAA); Marcin Gortat (Phoenix Suns); Adam Hrycaniuk (Valencia Basket); Michal Ignerski (Banco di Sardegna Sassari); Przemyslaw Karnowski (Gonzaga, NCAA); Thomas Kelati (Valencia Basket); Lukasz Koszarek (Zielona Gora); Damian Kulig (PGE Turow); Maciej Lampe (Laboral Kutxa); Michal Michalak (Trefl Sopot); Mateusz Ponitka (Asseco Prokom Gdynia); Szymon Szewczyk (Umana Reyer Venezia); Krzysztof Szubarga (Anwil); Adam Waczynski (Trefl Sopot); Lukasz Wisniewski (AZS Koszalin); and Przemyslaw Zamojski (Asseco Prokom Gdynia)


26.09.2013 - EUROBASKET 2013
26.09.2013 - EUROBASKET 2015
26.09.2013 - EUROBASKET 2013
26.09.2013 - EUROBASKET 2013
26.09.2013 - EUROBASKET 2013

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook