Germany Name First Training Camp Squad

22 May 2012


8. Heiko Schaffartzik (Germany)
Heiko Schaffartzik, Germany's third leading scorer behind Nowitzki and Kaman at last year's EuroBasket, is among the players invited to the training camp

Germany coach Svetislav Pesic has named the squad of players that will be at the national team's first training camp next month.

Several have turned out for the national team before, including Bayern Munich's Robin Benzing, Steffen Hamann, Jan-Hendrik Jagla and Philipp Schwethelm.

Elias Harris, the Gonzaga University forward who played at EuroBasket
2009 but missed last summer's Final Round in Lithuania, is included in the squad.

"We have this summer, two major goals," said Pesic, who steered Germany to the EuroBasket 1993 gold medal and returned to the helm earlier this year.

"First, of course, qualifying for EuroBasket 2013 in Slovenia, but also introducing the players with a perspective to the senior team."

The training camp will be held 19-21 June in Kienbaum, near Berlin.

"The short training camp is a good opportunity to get to know all the players better," Pesic said.

Germany will compete in Qualification Round Group B against Bulgaria, Azerbaijan, Luxembourg and Sweden.

The Qualification Round games tip off on 15 August, though Germany's first game is not until 18 August at home to Luxembourg.

Germany's preliminary squad: Robin Benzing (FC Bayern München), Bastian Doreth (FC Bayern München), Niels Giffey (University of Connecticut), Per Günther (ratiopharm Ulm), Steffen Hamann (FC Bayern München), Elias Harris (Gonzaga University), Patrick Heckmann (Boston College), Yassin Idbihi (ALBA Berlin), Jan-Hendrik Jagla (FC Bayern München), Maximilian Kleber (s.Oliver Baskets), Mathis Mönninghoff (Gonzaga University), Philipp Neumann (Brose Baskets Bamberg), Tim Ohlbrecht (Fraport Skyliners Frankfurt), Tibor Pleiß (Brose Baskets Bamberg), Heiko Schaffartzik (ALBA Berlin), Philipp Schwethelm (FC Bayern München), Lucca Staiger (ALBA Berlin), Karsten Tadda (Brose Baskets Bamberg), Daniel Theis (Spot Up Braunschweig / New Yorker Phantoms Braunschweig), Maik Zirbes (TBB Trier), Philip Zwiener (TBB Trier).


Mahalbasic Enjoying It In Deep Water27.11.2012
Daneu Named As Third Ambassador09.11.2012
Decision Time For Prince Hanga02.11.2012
Stefansson Where He Wants To Be16.10.2012
Barton: Czechs Will Improve With Vesely19.09.2012
Kangur Stresses The Positives17.09.2012
Pianigiani’s Wonderful Italian Summer14.09.2012
Next Time, Estonia Make Their Own Luck14.09.2012

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook