Vesely Is Young Men's Player Of The Year

14 February 2011
FIBA Europe 2010 Awards

Jan Vesely - Czech Republic
Jan Vesely first played with the senior Czech Republic team in EuroBasket 2009 Division A, at the age of 19

FIBA Europe announced on Monday that Jan Vesely of the Czech Republic is the winner of the European Young Men's Player of the Year award for 2010.

Vesely edged out three-time winner Ricky Rubio of Spain in both the public and an expert panel vote, in what turned out to be the closest race ever in this category. Players born in 1990 or later were eligible for the award.

The versatility of the all-around 2.10m forward, reminiscent of Toni Kukoc, made him stand out in the impressive Partizan side that reached last year's Turkish Airlines Euroleague Final Four. He averaged 8.4 points and 4.9 rebounds in that competition and posted almost identical numbers with the Belgrade team in the Adriatic League, 8.4 points and 3.5 rebounds per game.

Vesely first featured in the senior national team in EuroBasket 2009 Division A. His exceptional talent became immediately apparent, as the 19-year-old at the time Czech finished the tournament with 11 points and 5.5 rebounds per game.

"I have been following Jan Vesely's progress in the last years and I have the feeling he'll give us all plenty of reasons to keep a close eye on him for many years to come. He is that rare kind of player that can play in any position, a natural basketball talent" said FIBA Europe Secretary General Nar Zanolin.

FIBA Europe will announce the winner of the Women's Player of the Year Award for 2010 on Wednesday and the Men's Player of the Year on Friday.

The Young Men's Player of the Year voting results:


Player Fan Voting Expert Voting Ranking
Jan Vesely 5977 148 0.156
Ricky Rubio 5924 134 0.141
Jonas Valanciunas 6764 98 0.106
Andrew Albicy 4461 54 0.059
Enes Kanter 5290 44 0.050
Dario Saric 3014 39 0.042
Kostas Papanikolaou 4297 37 0.042
Nikos Pappas 4098 35 0.040
Mateusz Ponitka 28807 9 0.039
Tomas Satoransky 2172 29 0.032
Dejan Musli 7416 23 0.031
Davis Bertans 5737 18 0.024
Mario Delas 2715 14 0.017
Przemyslaw Karnowski 6121 5 0.011
Dmitry Kulagin 4286 6 0.010
TOTAL 97,079 693  



Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook