Rubio Named Young Men's Player Of The Year


The votes are in and Spain and DKV Joventut star Ricky Rubio has been named the FIBA Europe Young Men's Player of the Year.

Rubio won handily in a vote of both fans and an expert panel of basketball journalists, players and coaches from 25 countries. 

Milos Teodosic (SRB)
Milos Teodosic of Serbia finished second in the voting.
Milos Teodosic of Serbia and Olympiacos finished second while Marco Belinelli of Italy and the NBA's Golden State Warriors won a close battle for third with fellow Italian Danilo Gallinari and Konstantinos Koufos of Greece.

Rubio led Spain to a fifth place finish at the Under-18 European Championship Men in August, where he averaged 19.1 points, 5.0 rebounds and 4.8 assists per contest while shooting nearly 50% from behind the three-point line.

He has been playing a bigger part for club side DKV Joventut as well, averaging 12.5 points per contest, second only to last year's Young Men's Player of the Year Rudy Fernandez, while dishing out 3.5 assists per game.

"It's been clear in the last few seasons that Ricard Rubio is one of the most exciting young players in Europe or any part of the world for that matter." Said FIBA Europe President George Vassilakopoulos.

"His exploits for both country and club make him a very deserving winner."

"I still remember his performance at the Under-16 European Championship Men two years ago (51 points, 24 rebounds and 12 assists)," commented FIBA Europe Secretary General Nar Zanolin.  "I think we all knew then and there that we were watching someone special."

The second place finisher Teodosic also had an impressive year leading Serbia to gold at the Under-20 European Championship Men and playing a significant role in the senior team's efforts at EuroBasket 2007 in Spain.

FIBA Europe Young Men's Player of the Year

Ricky Rubio, Spain10.710.31
Milos Teodosic, Serbia21.430.92.3
Marco Belinelli, Italy42.841.24
Konstantinos Koufos, Greece53.520.64.1
Danilo Gallinari, Italy32.192.74.8
Milan Macvan, Serbia64.251.55.7
Nicolas Batum, France74.972.17
Alexey Shved, Russia85.661.87.4
Vladimir Dasic, Montenegro96.31039.3
Mladen Jeremic, Serbia10782.49.4


Jersey Winners Announced19.05.2008
Jekabasone-Zogota Proud For Latvia13.02.2008
Kirilenko Calls Award A Team Honor12.02.2008
Kirilenko Named FIBA Europe Player Of The Year08.02.2008
Jekabsone-Zogota Women's Player Of The Year07.02.2008
Petrovic Takes Home Young Women's Player Of the Year05.02.2008
Player Of The Year A Winner For Fans As Well01.02.2008

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook