Eurobasket 2005 Draw Set For Weekend

11 January 2005

The Eurobasket 2005 draw will take place at 13:00 on Saturday 15th January, 2005 at the SAVA Center in Belgrade, Serbia & Montenegro.

The 15 teams that have so far qualified for Eurobasket are seeded as follows (All seeds are based on the last official competition played by each participating team):

Seed 1 Italy Lithuania Greece Spain
Seed 2 Serbia & Montenegro Turkey Germany


Seed 3 Croatia Latvia Slovenia Russia
Seed 4 Bosnia & Herzegovina Bulgaria Ukraine Qualifier

Additional Qualifying Round

The draw for the Additional Qualifying Round will also take place in Belgrade. This gives an extra chance for the 9 remaining teams in Division A to fight for the last remaining Eurobasket spot.

The teams are seeded as follows:

Seed 1 Israel Hungary Czech Republic
Seed 2 Portugal Estonia Belgium
Seed 3 Poland Netherlands Sweden

The 9 teams will be divided into three groups of three and will play home and away games in August and September 2005. The three group winners will then qualify for a tournament to be played in Belgrade on 11-13 September 2005. The winner of that tournament will qualify for Eurobasket.

The draw will be broadcast live on RTV. Any other international broadcasters who wish to obtain footage of the event should contact FIBA TV:

Tel: +41 22 545 00 48/33

The draw will be broadcast live on

Eurobasket 2005 will be played 15th - 25th September 2005 in Serbia & Montenegro.


Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook