2014 U17 World Cup Groups Drawn

12 February 2014


10. Santiago Yusta (Spain)
Santiago Yusta is likely to play for Spain at the U17 World Championship

The draw for the 2014 FIBA U17 World Championship was held in Dubai, United Arab Emirates (UAE) on Wednesday, ahead of this summer's tournament that will take place in the emirate from 8 to 16 August.

Europe will be represented by five teams at the Championship but a notable absence is Croatia, who finished third at the previous edition of the tournament in Kaunas, Lithuania in 2012.

The 16 teams, representing all five of FIBA's Continental Zones, were divided into four groups of four teams for the Preliminary Round, which is played in a standard round-robin format.

Group A: Angola, Greece, USA, Philippines
Group B: Japan, France, Canada, Australia
Group C: Puerto Rico, UAE, Italy, Spain
Group D: Argentina, Serbia, China, Egypt

It is the first time a FIBA World Championship - senior or junior - is staged in the Middle East.

The FIBA U17 World Championship is where the stars of tomorrow are born.

The success and interest in the first two U17s was so high that, starting in 2014, the tournament will consist of a 16-team field - the same competition format as the FIBA U19 World Championship.

Click here for the 2014 FIBA U17 World Championship competition system.



FIBA Launches New App09.09.2014
EuroBasket 2015 Hosts Announced08.09.2014
Strong Audience Figures For Spain 2014 Group Phase Games05.09.2014
3x3 Euro Championships Set For Tip-Off03.09.2014
Team Trbovlje Win FIBA 3x3 World Tour Masters in Lausanne01.09.2014
FIBA Team Up With Twitter29.08.2014
Muratore Elected New FIBA President28.08.2014
FIBA Launches TV Academy28.08.2014