Eurocup and EuroChallenge Qualifying Round and Regular Season Drawn

08 July 2010
FIBA Europe Sports Director Kosta Iliev at the EuroChallenge Draw 2010
FIBA Europe Sports Director Kosta Iliev at the Eurocup Qualifying Round Draw 2010

At the joint draw for FIBA Europe and Euroleague Basketball, held in Barcelona, the match-ups for Eurocup and EuroChallenge Qualifying Rounds, plus the Regular Season of EuroChallenge were determined.

The 16 teams playing for the last eight spots in the next edition of Eurocup went first. The eight teams falling short in the home and away games will go on to play in the EuroChallenge Regular Season.

"The Eurocup Qualifying Round is a great opportunity for clubs to qualify and last year's edition shows that teams coming from the qualifiers can go all the way to the title." Said FIBA Europe President Olafur Rafnsson.

"Valencia being at the brink of playing in EuroChallenge and then winning the final of Eurocup in great fashion is an inspiration for all clubs playing there."



The match-ups of the Eurocup Qualifying Round

Team B

Team A

Besiktas Cola Turka (TUR)

Deutsche Bank Skyliners (GER)

Hapoel Migdal Jerusalem (ISR)

Belgacom Liège (BEL)

Aris B.S.A. 2003 (GRE)

PBC Lukoil Academic Sofia (BUL)

Gran Canaria 2014 (ESP)

KK Zagreb Croatia Osiguranje (CRO)

BC Azovmash Mariupol UKR)

Entente Orleanaise Loiret (FRA)

BC Spartak (RUS)


Benetton Basket Bwin (ITA)

Apoel Nicosia (CYP)

Dynamo Moscow (RUS)

Cedevita Zagreb (CRO)


The EuroChallenge Qualifying Round was drawn next with 28 teams battling for the final 14 spots in the EuroChallenge Regular Season. 14 seeded teams were drawn against 14 unseeded teams with the higher seeds playing the second and decisive game at home.

The match-ups of the EuroChallenge Qualifying Round

Team A

Team B

BC Enisey Krasnoyarsk (RUS)

BC Nizhny Novgorod (RUS)

Keravnos (CYP)

Szolnoki Olaj (HUN)

Maccabi Haifa (ISR)

Paris Levallois (FRA)

Pinar Karsiyaka (TUR)

Leiden Basketball (NEL)

Artland Dragons (GER)

Etha Nicosia (CYP)

Sluc Nancy (FRA)

KK Bosna Asa Bh Telecom (BIH)

Triumph Lyubertsy (RUS)

Lugano Basket (SUI)

Okapi Aalstar (BEL)

Norrköping Dolphins (SWE)

CSU Asesoft Ploiesti (ROU)

BC Khimik Yuzhny (UKR)

BC Kyiv (UKR)

Steaua Bucharest (ROU)

Antwerp Giants (BEL)

BC Minsk 2006 (BLR)

BK Prostejov (CZE)

Helios Domzale (SLO)

Trefl Sopot (POL)

Dexia Mons Hainot (BEL)

Ferro ZNTU (UKR)

Sport Benfica E Lisboa (POR)


EuroChallenge Co-ordinator Richard Stokes drawing the Nörrköping Dolphins
EuroChallenge Co-ordinator Richard Stokes drawing the Norrköping Dolphins

Finally, the Regular Season of EuroChallenge was drawn. 32 teams were divided into 8 groups of 4 teams. The winner of each group and the runner-up will advance to the Last 16 where four groups with four teams each will fight for the eight places in the Quarter-Final Play-Offs.

"We had a very high level of competition last season, peaking at a tremendous Final Four in Göttingen that showed how professional the EuroChallenge and its clubs are." Said FIBA Europe Secretary Nar Zanolin.

"The high number of teams wanting to play here also shows the growing reputation of EuroChallenge. I am sure that we will again have an exciting season with teams from all over Europe." He added.

The EuroChallenge Regular Season




PAOK BC (GRE)/Spartak BC (RUS)


BCM Gravelines (FRA)


Nizhny Novgorod (RUS)/Enisey Krasnoyarsk (RUS)


Szolnoki Olaj (HUN)/Keravnos (CYP)


Skyliners Frankfurt (GER)/Besiktas J.K. (TUR)


BK Ventspils (LAT)


BC Khimik Yuzhny (UKR)/CSU Asesoft Ploiesti (ROU)


Paris Levallois (FRA)/ Maccabi Haifa (ISR)


PBC Lucoil Academic (BUL)/Aris B.S.A. 2003 (GRE)


Tartu Rock (EST)


Lugano Basket (SUI)/Triumph Lyubertsy (RUS)


Sport Benfica E Lisboa (POR)/Ferro ZNTU (UKR)


Belgacom Liège (BEL)/Hapoel Migdal Jerusalem (ISR)


Türk Telekom Ankara (TUR)


Nörrköping Dolphins (SWE)/Okapi Aalstar (BEL)


Barak Natanya (ISR)


KK Zagreb (CRO)/Gran Canaria 2014(ESP)


KRKA Novo Mesto (SLO)


Helios Domzale (SLO)/BK Prostejov (CZE)


Telekom Baskets Bonn (GER)


Cedevita Zagreb (CRO)/Dynamo Moscow (RUS)


Lokomotiv Kuban (RUS)


BC Minsk 2006 (BLR)/Antwerp Giants (BEL)


Steaua Bucharest (ROU)/BC Kyiv (UKR)


Apoel Nicosia (CYP)/Benetton Basket Bwin (ITA)


KK Zadar (CRO)


Leiden Basket (NED)/Pinar Karsiyaka (TUR)


Etha Nicosia (CYP)/Artland Dragons (GER)


Entente Orléanaise Loiret (FRA)/ BC Azovmash (UKR)


BC Telenet Oostende (BEL)


KK Bosna Sarajevo (BIH)/ Sluc Nancy (FRA)


Dexia Mons Hainaut (BEL)/Trefl Sopot (POL)


To find out more about the Eurocup Qualifying Round and EuroChallenge visit

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook