FIBA Europe Introduces Final Eight

07 December 2010

ELW banner 300x200

In its continuing effort to support and develop the women's game FIBA Europe has approved the introduction of a EuroLeague Women Final Eight, which will always be played at a venue determined prior to the start of the season.

The Regular Season will still be played with 24 teams but they will be drawn into three groups of eight teams each, instead of the current four groups of six teams each.

The decision, which was taken by the FIBA Europe Board during its meeting in Munich last weekend, will come into effect from the 2011-12 season.

"The new format promises to add competitiveness to an already attractive event," commented FIBA Europe President Olafur Rafnsson.

"This can only be good news for Women's Basketball. More teams in the Regular Season groups means better potential for the clubs in their efforts to secure visibility for their sponsors and secure television deals," added FIBA Europe Secretary Nar Zanolin.

"And the Final Eight can bring in the additional exposure we have all been looking for the women's flagship competition"


31.05.2011 - EuroLeague Women
24.05.2011 - EuroLeague Women
23.05.2011 - EuroLeague Women

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook