Rafnsson Elected FIBA Europe President

15 May 2010

Representatives of FIBA Europe's 51 member federations, attending the 2010 General Assembly in Munich on Saturday, elected Mr. Olafur Rafnsson of Iceland as their new President.

Rafnsson defeated Turgay Demirel of Turkey, the only other candidate, by garnering 32 of 51 votes.

"I am very moved by the support which was even more than I expected," commented Rafnsson after his win (watch his post-elections reaction here).

"Being FIBA Europe President is a huge responsibility and the hard work starts now.

"The people you have here are magnificent.  The passion and enthusiasm of the people working for our federations.  If we don't exploit this then we are making a mistake."

Rafnsson is a former player and coach who served as a member of the FIBA Europe Board for the term of 2006-2010 and is President of the National Olympic Committee of Iceland.

He will serve a four year term as FIBA Europe President running from 2010-2014.

Jan Berteling of the Netherlands was re-elected as FIBA Europe Treasurer.

The following individuals were elected to the board:

Mr. Tor Christian Bakken (NOR)
Mr. Mindaugas Balciunas (LTU)
Mr. Ivan Bodrogvary (HUN)
Mr. Cyriel Coomans (BEL)
Mr. Mirsad Donlagic (BIH)
Mr. Terry Donovan (ENG)
Mr. Manuel Fernandes (POR)
Mr. John Goncalves (GIB)
Mrs. Marion Grethen (LUX)
Mrs. Natasha Hrisenkova (SVK)
Mr. Walther Kaszelik (AUT)
Mr. Boris Lalic (CRO)
Mr. Roman Ludwiczuk (POL)
Mr. Dino Meneghin (ITA)
Mr. Antonio Mizzi (MLT)
Mr. Milos Prazak (CZE)
Mr. Iztok Rems (SLO)
Mr. Jose Luis Saez Regalado (ESP)
Mr. Jean-Pierre Siutat (FRA)
Mrs. Carmen Tocala (ROU)
Mrs. Lena Wallin-Kantzy (SWE)
Mr. Ingo Weiss (GER)
Mr. Asterios Zois (GRE)  

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook