Player Of The Year Voting Commences

13 December 2010
FIBA Europe Player Of The Year 2010

Pau Gasol receives Player of the Year trophy by FIBA Europe President Olafur Rafnsson
Pau Gasol receives the Player Of The Year for 2009 trophy from FIBA Europe President Olafur Rafnsson

The race is on for the most prestigious individual honour in European basketball, as FIBA Europe has announced the nominees for its annual Player of the Year awards for 2010.

Awards will be given in four categories: Men, Young Men, Women and Young Women.

The winners in each category will be decided by the public and an expert panel vote.

Players born in 1990 or after are eligible for the Young Men and Young Women awards.

Voting in all four categories will cease on 31 January 2011.

The winners will be announced through in early February and will be later presented with a special trophy.

The FIBA Europe Player Of The Year awards were established in 2005, with Dirk Nowitzki of Germany and Maria Stepanova of Russia winning the respective men's and women's awards.

Stepanova and Ricky Rubio (in the Young Men's category) are the most decorated players to date with three awards each, while Pau Gasol has won the award two years in a row, 2008 and 2009.

Basketball fans can go through the candidates' profiles and vote here!

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook