Vote For Your 2006 Player of the Year

21 December 2006

FIBA Europe is pleased to launch the fan vote for the 2006 Player of the Year award.

The award is held in four categories, Men, Women, Young Men and Young Women.

Dirk Nowitzki was the clear winner of the inaugural men’s award which was launched in 2005. Maria Stepanova picked up women’s honours, while Nikos Zisis and Anete Jekbasone claimed the title for young men and young women respectively.

2006 saw another great year of basketball in which a number of players rose to the fore for both for club and country.

But there can only be one player of the year and FIBA Europe needs your help to choose the winners.

The vote is divided into two sections. An expert panel consisting of coaches, players and journalists will select their top three players. Fans are also invited to select their top three players via

The panel’s selections will be weighted so that their votes will count for 70% of the final result while the fan vote will count for 30%.

The deadline for the fan vote is January 15th 2007 and the final results will be announced by the end of January.


Fernandez Honoured Before Spain Win29.08.2007
Fernandez To Be Honoured In Spain27.08.2007
Papaloukas Honoured At Eurostar Game01.07.2007
Stepanova Handed Player Of The Year Trophy08.03.2007
Stepanova Delight At Second Successive Award29.01.2007
Papaloukas Wins Close Vote To Become FIBA Europe Player Of The Year26.01.2007
Fernandez Credits Coaches, Teammates And Family For Honour26.01.2007
Papaloukas Legend Grows With FIBA Europe Player Of Year Honour26.01.2007

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook