Kirilenko Men's POY 2012

12 February 2013
15. Andrei Kirilenko (Russia)
Andrei Kirilenko has been named as FIBA Europe Men's Player of the Year for the second time in his career

Andrei Kirilenko has been voted as FIBA Europe Men's Player of the Year 2012, reclaiming the award he previously won back in 2007.

Whilst most NBA players became frustrated during the lockout that kept them of the courts at the end of 2011, other players found that it worked in their favour.

One player falling into the latter category was Kirilenko, who thrived on the opportunity to return to his native Russia and play for CSKA Moscow.

The small forward terrorised players throughout Europe, leading CSKA to the EuroLeague final; a VTB League Championship; and victory in Russia's domestic league, the BEKO PBL.

His EuroLeague performances were enough to earn him EuroLeague MVP and a position on the All-EuroLeague First Team.

In summer his attentions turned to London as the Russians gunned for an Olympic basketball medal for the first time since the collapse of the Soviet Union. They achieved just that with Kirilenko playing a starring role in earning the Russians a bronze.

Following summer, Kirilenko ended a 10-season relationship with the Utah Jazz, with the 31-year-old instead reviving his NBA career with the European-laden Minnesota Timberwolves.

With franchise player Kevin Love missing the beginning of the season, Kirilenko took on a bigger scoring role, taking his European form back to the biggest league in the world.

"Andrei is a deserving winner of this award. It is a mark of the man that he has been able to retain his high-intensity throughout the year in a number of competitions," said FIBA Europe President Olafur Rafnsson.

"It was fantastic to see Andrei excelling at domestic and international level in 2012 and I hope for him that he can continue with the same form this year," added FIBA Europe Secretary General Kamil Novak.

FIBA Europe will announce in due course when and where the awards will be presented.



Andrei Kirilenko 10754 356 0.1728
Pau Gasol 10266 348 0.1687
Vassilis Spanoulis 11439 305 0.1504
Tony Parker 11696 237 0.1197
Marc Gasol 6547 124 0.0631
Danilo Gallinari 14066 30 0.0281
Goran Dragic 5475 48 0.0274
Marcin Gortat 10939 35 0.0271
Nikola Pekovic 7483 40 0.0259
Ömer Asik 8892 17 0.0168


Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook