EuroBasket Format Set To Change

16 November 2013
FIBA Europe Board in Madrid, November 2013
FIBA Europe Board in Madrid, November 2013

The FIBA Europe Board has approved a major change in the competition system of the EuroBasket finals format as of 2017, dispensing of the Second Round and moving into the elimination rounds directly after the first phase.

The decision, made on Saturday, means a much shorter tournament in duration and reflects an effort by FIBA Europe to make its flagship tournament even more attractive, taking into consideration recommendations by a group of stakeholders involved in the game.

The Board, which was hosted by the Spanish Basketball Federation (FEB) in Madrid, also decided to prolong the contract of current Secretary General, Kamil Novak, for two more years, until 2016.

It has also approved a recommendation to elevate the recently deceased President Olafur Rafnsson to the status of Honorary FIBA Europe member, posthumously.

Miguel Cardenal Carro, the Spanish Undersecretary of State of Sport, visited the meeting and paid a tribute to the sport of Basketball and the work of FEB and its President Mr Jose Saez.

Cardenal also took the opportunity to offer his condolences for the departed Mr Rafnsson whom he had the opportunity to meet in formal and informal settings.

Youth European Championships 2014

The Board also approved the 2014 European Youth Championships host countries. The confirmed hosts are:

U20 Men Division A: Greece

FIBA Europe Board in Madrid, November 2013
FIBA Europe Board in Madrid, November 2013

U20 Men Division B: Bosnia and Herzegovina

U18 Men Division A: Turkey

U18 Men Division B: Ukraine

U18 Men Division C: Andorra

U16 Men Division A: Latvia

U16 Men Division B: FYR of Macedonia

U16 Men Division C: Malta

U20 Women Division A: Italy

U20 Women Division B: Bulgaria

U18 Women Division A: Portugal

U18 Women Division B: Romania

U18 Women Division C: Andorra

U16 Women Division A: Hungary

U16 Women Division B: Estonia

U16 Women Division C: Malta

The host cities will be confirmed in early 2014.

European Championships of the Small Countries 2014

It was confirmed during the Board meeting that the European Championship of the Small Countries 2014 will be organised in Gibraltar and Austria (St. Polten) for men and women respectively.

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook