EuroCup Competition Format Approved, Cyprus To Host All Star Game

04 August 2007

The EuroCup competition format was approved during the General Assembly of Clubs today in Munich, Germany.

Further to the FIBA Europe Competition Commission proposal yesterday, the EuroCup General Assembly approved the format for the 2007-2008 season which includes 38 clubs.

The competition will feature two elimination rounds.

A total of 12 clubs will play in the first elimination round. The clubs will play home and away games and the six winners will advance to the second elimination round, consisting of 32 sides divided into pairings. The clubs will again play home and away games to determine the field of 16.

The 16 clubs will be drawn into four groups of four with the Draw taking place on November 30th in Munich. The top two clubs will then qualify for the quarter-final round, which will be a best-of-three series.

The Final Four will follow, as has been the case in previous seasons. This year’s Final Four will be held from April 18-20.

In addition, the Assembly approved having a EuroCup All Star Game for the fifth consecutive year.

On March 25th 2008, Cyprus will host the All Star Game, marking the fourth consecutive time they are organising the event.

The draw for EuroCup teams takes place tomorrow at 10:00 local time. The results can be followed live on


Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook