Seven More Teams Get Direct EuroBasket Berth


Following the announcement that the EuroBasket 2011 will be played with 24 teams, FIBA Europe has determined the directly qualified teams as well as the system of additional qualification for next year's tournament.

In addition to the five teams that had already qualified to a 16-team EuroBasket, seven more teams already assured their ticket for Lithuania.

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Georgia, Italy, Latvia, Poland and Ukraine are the ones going directly to the Final Round, after taking places two to four in their respective groups this summer.

"Those teams now have the possibility to join the EuroBasket and get a reward for the hard work in recent years" commented FIBA Europe Secretary General Nar Zanolin.

FIBA Europe President Olafur Rafnsson added: "We are excited to see so many new faces at the EuroBasket and I am sure that the tournament will be a great success for Basketball in Europe."

Two more spots available next summer

The three last placed teams of each Qualification group will play out the last two participants in the Final Round next summer.

Finland, Hungary and Portugal will play in the Additional Qualification Round in 2011.


Slovenia Awarded EuroBasket 201305.12.2010
EuroBasket 2011 To Be Played With 24 Teams05.09.2010
Five Teams Book Ticket To EuroBasket 201130.08.2010
EuroBasket 2011 Finals To Be Held In Kaunas02.08.2010
Dates Announced For EuroBasket 201131.05.2010
Lithuania On Schedule For EuroBasket 201125.01.2010

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook