EuroBasket Women 2011 Host Cities Announced

01 June 2010

The organizers of EuroBasket Women 2011 in Poland have made official the three cities that will host the event, scheduled to run from 18 June to 3 July 2011.

Bydgoszcz and Katowice will host Preliminary and Qualifying Round games while the Final Round will be contested in Łódz.

"We know from our experiences in 2009 that Poland is capable of hosting a great event," commented FIBA Europe President Olafur Rafnsson.

"There is a history of great basketball events in Poland and EuroBasket Women 2011 will certainly add to that legacy."

The three cities are no strangers to big time basketball, having all hosted games at EuroBasket 2009 and played parts in previous EuroBasket Women. 

Katowice hosted the final in 1999 (won by the hosts) and Łódz was the finals site in 1958 when Bulgaria took home a gold medal.

"It will be our pleasure to once again work with our friends in Łódz, Katowice and Bydgoszcz," added FIBA Europe Secretary General Nar Zanolin.

"These cities are our experienced partners," added Polish Basketball Federation President Roman Ludwiczuk.

"They have done a great job in the past and that's why we will return in 2011."  


04.07.2011 - EUROBASKET WOMEN 2011
03.07.2011 - EUROBASKET WOMEN 2011

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook