FIBA Europe Launches Player of the Year Award

09 December 2005

FIBA Europe announced today the launch of the official 2005 Player of the Year award.

The award will be divided into four different categories, Men, Young Men, Women and Young Women.

All European players, regardless of where they play their club basketball are eligible for the award, and the winners in each category will be selected by a vote of international media members.

Players under 22 (born in 1983 or after) are eligible for the young player award.

The winners will be selected based on their performances in 2005 up to and including EuroBasket and EuroBasket Women.

“We are really excited to create a FIBA Europe player of the year accolade,” said FIBA Europe Secretary General Nar Zanolin.

“It’s time for us to officially recognise our top players from all categories. 2005 has seen some pretty amazing performances both in club and national team competition so it will definitely be difficult to choose, but we are looking forward to seeing who the winners are and presenting them with their prizes.”

FIBA Europe has commissioned four prizes to be created for the winners. Voting will cease in January 2006, after which each winner will be presented with their award.


Zisis Credits Greek Teammates For Honour24.05.2006
Zisis To Lift Player Of The Year Trophy In Treviso19.05.2006
Jekabsone Looking Forward After Receiving Award07.05.2006
Jekabsone To Be Presented Young Women’s Player Of The Year Award05.05.2006
Nowitzki Honoured By Player Of The Year Status22.04.2006
Nowitzki To Receive Player Of Year Award18.04.2006
Stepanova Receives Player Of The Year Trophy08.03.2006
Stepanova To Be Honoured At All-Star Game03.03.2006

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook