Maccabi Make It 50 In Israel

25 May 2012

4. Yogev Ohayon (Israel)
Israel international Yogev Ohayon made his teammates look good with 10 assists in the final and earned Final Four MVP honours

Maccabi Tel Aviv put the finishing touches on another dominating campaign in Israel by clinching the league title on Thursday night.

David Blatt's team, the Adriatic League winners, captured the domestic championship with an 83-63 triumph over Maccabi Ashdod.

The most successful club in Israeli basketball history, Maccabi have now captured 50 Israeli league crowns.

On Thursday night, Devin Smith and Keith Langford poured in 16 points apiece while Israel international Yogev Ohayon had 10 along with 10 assists.

Ohayon was named MVP of the Final Four.

Maccabi overcame Hapoel Holon 102-73 to reach the title game.

Ashod trailed by 10 points at half-time but trimmed the deficit to 59-53 late in the third quarter.

Maccabi then put the result beyond doubt with a 21-7 run over an eight-minute span.

While Maccabi didn't make it back to the Turkish Airlines Euroleague Final Four for the second year in a row, the team did win the Adriatic League with an 87-77 triumph over Cedevita Zagreb on 30 April.

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook