Lappeenranta Win Second Consecutive Finnish Title

09 May 2006

EuroCup Challenge semi-finalists Lappeenranta claimed the Finnish championship for the second consecutive year following an 85-76 win over Joensuun Kataja in the fifth game of the best-of-five finals.

Joensuu had previously won all of their home games against Lappeenranta and had the best record from the regular season. 

Lappeenranta led by double digits and controlled the game throughout, but Joensuu made a late comeback and closed the margin to three at 79-76 with 1:30 to go in the game.

Michael Williams threw down a thunderous dunk as Lappeenranta scored the final six points of the game to secure the win.
“We are used to playing in similar atmospheres in the EuroCup Challenge when there are 3,000 fans rooting for the home team,” said Lappeenranta head coach Mika Turunen.

Team captain Andre Foreman paced the champions with 30 points, while finals MVP Chanan Colman chipped in with 16 points and seven assists.

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook