Parker Is 2013 Men's POY

05 February 2014
Tony Parker (France)
Tony Parker: 2013 FIBA Europe Player of the Year

With a EuroBasket gold medal around his neck, Tony Parker was overwhelmingly voted as the 2013 FIBA Europe Men's Player of the Year.

In the minds of fans and experts alike, there was very little doubt as to who was the most deserving man for the award in 2013, with Parker holding out Vassilis Spanoulis and Marc Gasol from the top spot on the podium

Indeed, it was a stellar domestic and international season for the Frenchman with, perhaps the only slight smudge on an otherwise perfect report card, the heartbreak of falling short of adding an NBA Finals ring to a Western Conference title and a EuroBasket gold medal.

Much like he did for club, the 31-year-old Parker led from the front for Les Bleus, with his off-the-court demeanour proving just as significant as that on it, becoming the centre-point around which France revolved.

The French playmaker completed his time at EuroBasket as the tournament's leading scorer, averaging 19 points a game, including a decisive 32 in his team's 75-72 semi-final victory over old rivals Spain, deservedly earning the personal achievement of being named Tournament MVP.

"For many years, Tony Parker has been a great ambassador for the sport of basketball, both in Europe and abroad," said FIBA Europe Acting President Cyriel Coomans. "It is therefore fitting to see a player of his fine calibre rewarded in this manner for what was indeed a magical 2013."

"Every year I look forward with anticipation to seeing Tony Parker take to the court wearing a French jersey," claimed FIBA Europe Secretary General Kamil Novak. "He is one of the greatest European players of his generation, as this award confirms, and I consider it an honour to get to see him play."

FIBA Europe will announce in due course when and where the award will be presented. 

The announcement of Parker as the 2013 FIBA Europe Men's Player of the Year rounds out the awards with Astou Ndour winning Young Women's Player of the Year, Dario Saric winning Young Men's Player of the Year and Sancho Lyttle winning Women's Player of the Year.



Tony Parker 24976 987 0,3369
Vassilis Spanoulis 15162 356 0,1255
Marc Gasol 10951 263 0,0926
Bojan Bogdanovic 28370 163 0,0716
Goran Dragic 20960 157 0,0647
Mantas Kalnietis 12153 77 0,0330
Petteri Koponen 18501 37 0,0242
Luigi Datome 7487 46 0,0199
Nikola Vucevic 7107 36 0,0164
Nenad Krstic 6501 34 0,0153


*The accumulated ranking reflects a combination of the fan and expert voting.  

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook