FIBA Europe Announces Player Of The Year Award Nominees

14 December 2007

FIBA Europe announced today the nominees of its annual official Player of the Year award for 2007.

The award is divided into four different categories, Men, Young Men, Women and Young Women.

Players in each category will be selected by a public and an expert panel vote.

Players under 21 (born in 1986 or after) are eligible for the young player award.

The winners will be selected based on their performances in 2007 on club and national team level and up to and including EuroBasket and EuroBasket Women.

“This award is fast becoming a European basketball tradition,” said FIBA Europe Secretary General Nar Zanolin.

“This year we have seen some exciting performances especially in EuroBasket and EuroBasket Women and the various Youth Competitions and it will be very difficult to choose but, that is the beauty of such an award.”

Voting will cease in January 2008, after which the winners will be announced through The winner in each category will be presented with a special trophy at dates and venues to be announced.

But this is not all. Except for the actual recipients of the award, registered public voters also have a chance to win authentic game-worn jerseys, autographed by the protagonists of EuroBasket 2007 in Spain.

Check for more details.


Jersey Winners Announced19.05.2008
Jekabasone-Zogota Proud For Latvia13.02.2008
Kirilenko Calls Award A Team Honor12.02.2008
Kirilenko Named FIBA Europe Player Of The Year08.02.2008
Jekabsone-Zogota Women's Player Of The Year07.02.2008
Rubio Named Young Men's Player Of The Year06.02.2008
Petrovic Takes Home Young Women's Player Of the Year05.02.2008
Player Of The Year A Winner For Fans As Well01.02.2008

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook