2014 World Cup Groups Revealed

04 February 2014
Juan San Epifanio (Epi), FIBA Sports Director Lubomir Kotleba and Jean Jacques Conceicaoat the 2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup
Juan San Epifanio, FIBA Sports Director Lubomir Kotleba and Jean Jacques Conceicao at the 2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup Draw

The Official Draw for the 2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup took place on Monday evening at the Palau de la Musica Catalana.

The 10 European teams who will play in the championship are evenly spread across the four groups.

Group A offers one of the most enticing match-ups of the First Round, providing a repeat of the EuroBasket 2013 semi-final when World Cup hosts Spain play European reigning champions France. Serbia will also play in what has already been coined the "group of death", which also includes amongst others, Asian champions Iran.

Group B sees European representation in the form of wildcard Greece and Slovenia; Wildcards Finland and Turkey have been thrown into the heat of the fire along with Ukraine, drawing current world champions USA in Group C; whilst Slovenia and Lithuania have been drawn in the most 'global' group, with teams representing all five FIBA zones.  


Group A Spain Serbia France Brazil Egypt Iran
Group B Philippines Senegal Puerto Rico Argentina Greece Croatia
Group C Dominican Republic Turkey USA Finland New Zealand Ukraine
Group D Slovenia Lithuania Angola Korea Mexico Australia


In attendance for this milestone event on the Road to Spain 2014 were distinguished guests including: the Mayor of the City of Barcelona, Mr Xavier Trias; the President of the High Council of Sport of Spain, Mr Miguel Cardenal; the Secretary of State of Spain, Mr Antonio Beteta; the President of FIBA, Mr Yvan Mainini; the President of the Spanish Basketball Federation, Mr José Luis Saez; the Secretary General Emeritus of FIBA, Mr Borislav Stankovic; the Secretary General of FIBA, Mr Patrick Baumann.

Lending a helping hand in the draw procedure were international legends Juan San Epifanio ('Epi') of Spain, Croatia's Dino Radja, Puerto Rico's Jose 'Piculin' Ortiz and FIBA Hall of Fame inductee Jean Jacques Conceicao of Angola.

2006 FIBA World Champions Juan Carlos Navarro and Jorge Garbajosa were also among the more than 500 in attendance, along with Eduardo Kucharski, Jaume Bassó and Angel González Adrio, members of Spain's national team at the first FIBA World Championship in 1950 and women's basketball legend Amaya Valdemoro.

They were joined by representatives of the participating team delegations - including head coaches of a dozen of the 24 teams - as well as members of the Spanish and foreign media.

Click here for the competition system and here for the full schedule (please note that the times of the games will be determined at a later stage and that the order in which the games are listed does not reflect the order in which they will be played).



Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook