EuroBasket 2015 2nd QR Draw Seedings

30 January 2014

FIBA Europe has released the tentative seedings for the EuroBasket 2015 2nd Qualification Round Draw which will take place in Barcelona, Spain on Monday 3rd February.

Seven of the teams currently included in the seedings have applied for the four wild cards to the 2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup which will take place in Spain in August and September.

The seven teams - Russia, Greece, Poland, Turkey, Israel, Finland and Bosnia and Herzegovina - will learn their fate in Barcelona on Saturday 1st February when FIBA announces the recipients of the wildcards.

Any of the seven teams that earn one of the four spots available in the World Cup will therefore be exempt from playing in the EuroBasket 2nd Qualification Round and will instead earn direct entry to EuroBasket 2015.

The seedings will then be changed to acknowledge this, with all teams below those which earn the wildcards, subsequently moving up a place in the rankings.

Following EuroBasket 2013, the other teams to have already earned direct entry to play in FIBA Europe's flagship tournament in Ukraine in 2015 are France, Lithuania, Spain, Croatia, Slovenia, Ukraine and Serbia, who will all participate in this summer's World Cup.

Additionally, Estonia will be exempt from participating in the 2nd Qualification Round, on account of earning the one direct entry spot available from the 1st Qualification Round.

Depending on how many European countries earn World Cup wild cards, up to 16 spots are still available at EuroBasket 2015.

The Draw will take place at Majestic Hotel and will start at 13:00.

FIBA Europe will be tweeting live from the draw, as well as having a live tracker on

The draw precedes the main event of the day in the city, the 2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup Draw which is scheduled for 18:00 at Barcelona's Palau de la Música Catalana.

The teams will be broken into seven groups for the 2nd Qualification Round, playing every other team in their group in a home-and-away format across six game days between 10th and 27th of August.

The below seedings have been arrived upon based on the nations' results at EuroBasket 2013 and the EuroBasket 2015 1st Qualification Round.

1. ITA
2. FIN*
3. LAT
4. GRE*
5. BEL
6. BIH*
7. GER
8. MNE
9. CZE
10. GBR
11. MKD
12. ISR*
13. RUS*
14. GEO
15. TUR*
16. SWE
17. POL*
18. BUL
19. BLR
20. SUI
21. AUT
22. ISL
23. POR
24. SVK
25. DEN
26. HUN
27. ROU
28. NED
29. LUX
*These seven nations have all applied for wildcards to the 2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup and will not participate in the 2nd Qualification Round, should they be announced as wildcard recipients on Saturday, 1st February.


28.08.2014 - EUROBASKET 2015 2nd QR
28.08.2014 - EUROBASKET 2015 2ND QR
28.08.2014 - EUROBASKET 2015 2nd QR

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook