FIBA Europe Player Of The Year Award Nominees Announced


FIBA Europe has announced the nominees for its annual Player of the Year awards for 2009.

Awards will be given in four different categories: Men, Young Men, Women and Young Women.

Winners in each category will be selected by a public and an expert panel vote.

Players born in 1989 or after are eligible for the young men and young women award.

The winners will be selected based on their performances in 2009 on club and national team level, and up to and including the EuroBasket 2009 and EuroBasket Women 2009 and the FIBA Europe Youth European Championships 2009.

Voting will cease in January 2010.

The winners will be announced through in early February and they will be presented with a special trophy at dates and venues to be announced.

Pau Gasol of Spain won men's award for 2008.  Ricky Rubio, also of Spain won the young men's award while Maria Stepanova of Russia and Gintare Petronyte of Lithuania were named women's and young women's player of the year.

You can take a look at the candidates and vote here!


EuroLeague Women All-Star Game Voting Opens18.12.2009
EuroCup Women Sixteenth-Final Pairings Set17.12.2009
European Team Sports Association (ETS) Is Born08.12.2009
Important Information On FIBA Europe Move19.11.2009
Munich Mayor Christian Ude Helps FIBA Europe Open New Home18.11.2009
FIBA Europe Opens New Home14.11.2009
Special Olympics European Basketball Week 2009 to Encourage Unity 09.11.2009

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook