EuroLeague And EuroCup Women Groups Drawn

21 July 2009

The 2009-10 women's club competition season officially opened on Tuesday, July 21, with the draws for EuroLeague Women and EuroCup Women being held in Freising, near Munich, Germany.

Representatives of the clubs were on hand to witness the proceedings.

The EuroCup Women's Qualifying Round groups were drawn up first. The 38 participating teams were divided into two regions (East and West) and were drawn into eight groups of four teams and two groups of three teams. The best-placed 32 teams will advance to the Sixteenth-Finals.

"It is true that the current financial crisis has hit our sport hard, this is why we see a smaller number of clubs participating in EuroCup Women this season. For that the competition features some strong clubs, including a few former EuroLeague Women participants. EuroLeague Women, the top women's club competition in the world remains as competitive as ever," commented FIBA Europe Secretary General Nar Zanolin.

The EuroLeague Women features eight new clubs this season with no country numbering more than three clubs.

The 24 teams were divided in four groups of six clubs each for the Regular Season groups. The teams finishing at the top four positions in each group qualify for the best-of-three Eighth-Finals play-offs. The pairings for the Eighth-Finals will be decided by a provisional seeding of the 16 qualified clubs based on their results in the Regular Season. 

The EuroLeague Women season will tip off on October 28 while EuroCup Women gets underway on November 12.

For the complete draw results of EuroLeague Women click here. For the results of EuroCup Women, Region East groups click here. For Region West groups click here.

For detailed information about schedules always check the EuroLeague Women and the EuroCup Women pages on

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook