Roundup: French Treble, Ruzomberok Go Through


Reyer Venezia tasted defeat for the first time in this season's EuroCup Women after they went down 77-69 to French side Arras despite a superb perimeter shooting display by Roberta Meneghel.

The visitors fell 20-11 behind after the first quarter and never got to taste the lead as Arras stayed in control and pulled away each time Reyer Venezia threatened to overhaul their advantage.

Olesia Malashenko added to her growing reputation with 17 points for the home side while Menghel converted six triples from six attempts but it still wasn't enough to keep her teams unbeaten status intact.

Two other French teams who both secured wins were ESB Lille Metropole and Nantes Reze. The former made it four wins from four games with an 79-64 success at Olivais Coimbra thanks mainly to 22 points by Carla Thomas and 19 points and 10 rebounds by Olayinka Sanni.

Meanwhile Nantes also secured a victory in Portugal with a 95-75 win against Vagos as six players reached double figures in a strong team performance based on some super perimeter shooting.

Ruzomberok successfully booked their place in the next stage of EuroCup Women with a powerful performance against Lotto Young Cats in Group I as three players claimed double-doubles in a 79-43 success.

Simona Podesvova, Katarina Tetemodova and Klaudia Lukacovicova all managed the feat while teenager Emma Meeseman also managed to secure a double-double for the losing team.

Finally a classy performance by Chrissy Givens handed Minsk 2006 a convincing 81-53 road win at still winless Petrolina AEK. The forward had 16 points and 8 rebounds in just 17 minutes of action.

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook

Thessaloniki, GRE
Arras, FRA
Sint-Katelyne-Waver, BEL
Istanbul, TUR
Vologda, RUS
Namur, BEL
Novosibirsk, RUS
Kursk, RUS
Ramla, ISR
Torun, POL
Villeneuve d'Ascq, FRA
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, ESP
Yerevan, ARM
Minsk, BLR
Sibenik, CRO
Klaipeda, LTU
Brussels, BEL
Zaragoza, ESP
Szeged, HUN
Minsk, BLR
Rezé, FRA
Coimbra, POR
Belgrade, SRB
Larnaca, CYP
Venezia, ITA
Ruzomberok, SVK
Saarlouis, GER
Craiova, ROU
Györ, HUN
Vagos, POR
Moscow, RUS
Sarajevo, BIH