Serbia’s Gold Medal Winners Target U20 Success In Riga

16 June 2008

Serbia captured gold as hosts of last year's FIBA U19 World Championship in Novi Sad under coach Miroslav Nikolic and now, most of the same players will try to duplicate the success in Europe.

This time, though, the players will be led by Slobodan Klipa, a man who has thrived as boss of FMP Belgrade.

While he is fully aware of how difficult this year's U20 European Championship will be in Riga, Klipa is nevertheless expecting big things from the squad.

"It is really great for our basketball that Nikolic created a new, successful generation from which several players are already candidates for our senior national team, and one is already in their preliminary list," Klipa said.

That player is Hemofarm center Boban Marjanovic, who is also still a member of under-20 squad.

"But, we are also in front of another huge challenge, and our task won't be easy this summer", Klipa said.

The new head coach of the Serbian under-20 team picked 25 players for a training camp.

Milan Macvan, the MVP of last year's U19 World Championship, is among the talented players in Klipa's squad.

"We want to achieve a good result at the European Championship, that's our task as team which came from Serbia," Klipa said.

After the training camp, which will finish on June 26, Klipa will trim his squad for three friendlies with Greece and the Borislav Stankovic Cup in China from July 17-20.

Serbia will eventually face Russia, Slovenia and France in Latvia.

Serbia preliminary squad for U20 European Championship: Miroslav Raduljica (FMP Zeleznik), Boban Marjanovic (Hemofarm), Milan Macvan (Hemofarm), Bojan Radetic (Borac), Slaven Cupkovic (Masinac), Marko Cakarevic (Asvel, France), Sava Lesic (Vizura), Danilo Sibalic (Vojvodina), Marko Krstic (Beovuk), Marko Keselj (Koeln, Germany), Petar Despotovic (Hemofarm), Nikola Koprivica (University of Washington, USA), Mladen Jeremic (FMP), Pedja Stamenkovic (Borac), Dusan Katnic (Mega Aqua Monta), Stefan Stojacic (Mega Aqua Monta), Stafan Sinovec (Vizura), Ilija Pavkovic (Vojvodina), Igor Krasnic (Crvena Zvezda), Aleksandar Radulovic (Masinac), Miljan Radisavljevic (Borac), Krsto Bjelica (Buducnost), Ivan Jovanovic (Zdravlje), Vuk Malidzan (Basket plus) and Nikola Maravic (Mega Aqua Monta).

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook