Spartak, Coconuda, Pays D´Aix and Halcon Avenida Advance


Spartak, Coconuda, Pays D´Aix and Halcon Avenida all marched on to the semi-finals after EuroCup Women action last night.

Gordana Grubin scored a game-high 20 points to lead Spartak to a 73-69 victory over Anda Ramat Hasharon and won the two-game series 147-136.

Spartak took control of the game in the third quarter by outscoring Anda 20-14.

Lisa Leslie added 16 points and 14 rebounds for the victors.

Spartak will now play Halcon Avenida in the semi-finals. Despite losing last night, Halcon advanced by winning the two games by a combined score of 137-128.

In the first game last week, Halcon prevailed by 18 points, so a 68-59 defeat last night was still enough to put them into the semi-finals.

Elena Tornikidou led Halcon in scoring in the two games with 24 and 19 respectively.

The other semi-final match-up will feature Coconuda taking on Pays D´Aix.

It took two extra periods to determine the victor of the BC Chevakata - Cocunuda quarter-final match-up.

BC Chevakata won the first game 64-63 last week. Last night, after four quarters of play, Cocunuda had a one-point advantage, but due to the combined tied score from the two games, the extra session was needed to determine the winner.

Both teams scored 13 points in the first overtime to force a second extra session.

Cocunuda's Plenette Michelle Pierson took control of the game and helped secure the outcome by scoring 10 of her 29 points in the second overtime. Cocunuda outscored Chevakata 17-10 in the second overtime. 

Pays D´Aix also advanced despite a loss last night. The French club won the first game against Nadezhda by 16 points, so a one-point setback last night was more than enough to secure entry into the semi-finals.

The EuroCup Women semi-finals will begin on 23 February. 

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook

Leon, ESP
Ramat-Hasharon, ISR
Marijampole, LTU
Vologda, RUS
Wels, Thalheim, AUT
Stara Zagora, BUL
Istanbul, TUR
Dorsten, GER
Poprad, SVK
Budapest, HUN
Funchal, POR
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, ESP
Ceyhan/Adana, TUR
Maddaloni, ITA
Miskolc, HUN
Kursk, RUS
Villeneuve d'Ascq, FRA
Faenza, ITA
Istanbul, TUR
Gospic, CRO
Salamanca, ESP
Hafnarfjordur, ISL
Vrsac, SRB
Hondarribia, ESP
Sibenik, CRO
Kastoria, GRE
Bijelo Polje, SCG
Zaporozhye, UKR
Parma, ITA
Burgas, BUL
Ruzomberok, SVK
Mersin, TUR
Orenburg, RUS
Les Milles, FRA
Tylorstown, WAL
Ribera, ITA
Clermont-Ferrand, FRA
Vidnoje, RUS
Szeged, HUN
Tarbes Cedex, FRA
Wasserburg, GER
Struga, MKD
Zalaegerszeg, HUN
Zagreb, CRO
Zagreb, CRO
Celje, SLO
Novi Sad, SRB