Bibrzycka Is Back To Boost Polish Hopes



11. Agnieszka Bibrzycka (CCC Polkowice)
Poland's Agnieszka Bibrzycka has already competed in four EuroBasket Women Final Rounds.

Having been hosts of EuroBasket Women 2011, it's been quite a while since Poland have had to endure a qualification programme but their hopes of reaching the EuroBasket Women in France next summer have been boosted by the timely return of Agnieszka 'Biba' Bibrzycka.

The former EuroLeague Women All Star takes top billing in a 21 player roster named by new head coach Jacek Winnicki ahead of the all-important preparation camp which is pencilled in to start next week.

On the flip-side, a sizeable question mark remains over Ewelina Kobryn who while named on the list is expected to opt for WNBA court time with Seattle this summer.

But, the inclusion of Biba who returned to action in recent months with CCC Polkowice is a significant positive as the team prepares to go up against Estonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Switzerland in Group B.

She missed the tournament on home soil last time due to pregnancy and will be vying to step out next year in what would be her fifth EuroBasket Women Final Round having debuted over a decade ago.

Poland will surely fancy their chances of finishing in the top two spots to ensure they get to compete in France although will be taking nothing for granted and especially if they are without the services of their kingpin in the paint Ewelina Kobryn.

The roster is as follows:
Paulina Pawlak (Wisla Can-Pack), Weronika Idczak (Energa Torun), Anna Pietrzak (Matziol Lider), Agnieszka Skobel (Gorzow), Magdalena Zietara (Lotos Gdynia), Agnieszka Bibrzycka (CCC Polkowice), Magdalena Losi (Vassali), Elzbieta Mowlik (Artego Bydgoszcz), Agnieszka Szott (Artego Bydgozcz), Katarzyna Krezel (Wisla Can-Pack), Emilia Tlumak (Energa Torun), Daria Mieloszynska (Caja Rural), Magdalena Leciejewska (Wisla Can-Pack), Joanna Walich (CCC Polkowice), Martyna Koc (Artego Bydgoszcz), Izabela Piekarska (Hainaut Basket), Agnieszka Majewska (CCC Polkowice), Patrycja Gulak-Lipka (Basket Alcamo), Agnieszka Kaczmarczyk (Gorzow), Aleksandra Chomac (Matziol Leader), Ewelina Kobryn (Wisla Can-Pack).


Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook