Mad-Croc Fuenlabrada Making History

07 March 2012
Ferran Laviña - Fuenlabrada
Fuenlabrada captain Ferran Laviña is one of three players who have not missed a single game so far this season and will most probably establish a new club record

Mad-Croc Fuenlabrada can rest safe in the knowledge that this has been an historical season, even if in the end they don't even get a shot at the EuroChallenge title.

The Madrid-based club has taken part in three competitions (Spanish Liga Endesa, Spanish Copa del Rey, EuroChallenge) this season, for the first time in its history.

As a result, and no matter how things turn out for them in the business end of the season, the current crop of players know that they will equal the club's record for most games played in a single season, 49.

If their EuroChallenge Quarter-Final Play-Off series against Triumph Lyubertsy goes to a third game, Fuenlabrada will have established a new record, no matter what the final outcome of the series.

The same will also be true of course if they sweep Triumph and advance to the Final Four, as they'll play two additional games.

The 49-game record was established in the 2001/02 season, when Fuenlabrada competed in the Korac Cup in addition to the ACB league regular season and the first round of the play-offs.

Fuenlabrada will have played 34 games at the end of the current Liga Endesa regular season, while they are well placed to qualify for the play-offs (they need a top-8 finish) and play at least two additional games.

They had also qualified for the Copa del Rey in February but lost to Real Madrid in the quarter-final, so they only added one game from that competition.


20.03.2012 - EUROCHALLENGE
16.03.2012 - EUROCHALLENGE
14.03.2012 - EUROCHALLENGE

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook

Deurne, BEL
Tbilisi, GEO
Quakenbrück, GER
Minsk, BLR
Krasnoyarsk, RUS
Ivano-Frankivsk, UKR
Nizhny Novgorod, RUS
Istanbul, TUR
Göttingen, GER
Pardubice, CZE
Prostejov, CZE
Ventspils, LAT
Cluj - Napoca, ROU
Chalon-sur-Saone, FRA
Nicosia, CYP
Oldenburg, GER
Nicosia, CYP
Yuzhny, UKR
Fuenlabrada, ESP
Norrköping, SWE
Aalst, BEL
Edirne, TUR
Izmir, TUR
Roanne, FRA
Szolnok, HUN
Lyubertsy, RUS
Ankara, TUR
Leiden, NED