Greek Celebration In Belgrade Arena

25 September 2005
By David Hein

Greek captain Mikhail Kakiouzis received the 2005 EuroBasket trophy from FIBA Europe President George Vassilakopoulos and hoisted it after his team knocked off Germany 78-62 on Sunday to claim their second European gold medal.

After Kakiouzis raised the trophy to the rafters, the Greek national anthem was played and the Greeks began their celebrations which will undoubtedly go long into the night.

Following the final whistle, the Greek players huddled around center court, jumping up and down just like their idols - the 1987 champions - did 18 years earlier. During the immediate spontaneous celebrations, the Greek players ran over to coach Panagiotis Yannakis - a member of that 1987 team - and picked him up and threw him up three times.

If one didn't know better, one could have thought that the final took place in Athens and not in Belgrade Arena, as Greek fans made sure their fans heard them loud and clear.

The post game celebrations included the awarding of the All-Tournament team.

The fans cheered "Serbia, Serbia" as five of the best Serbian players of all time - Vlade Divac, Zoran Savic, Zarko Paspalj, Predrag Sasa Danilovic and Aleksandar Sasa Djordjevic - presented the All-Tournament awards to Dimitrios Diamantidis of Greece, Germany's Dirk Nowitzki, Theodoros Papaloukas, Juan Carlos Navarro and Boris Diaw, respectively.

Serb basketball legend Dragan Kicanovic presented the Most Valuable Player award to Dirk Nowitzki.

Germany captured only their second medal of all-time following their gold  medal in 1993.

And France won gold for their first medal in 46 years.


30.09.2005 - By Jeff Taylor, PA Sport
28.09.2005 - By Jeff Taylor, PA Sport
26.09.2005 - By Kevin Anselmo and David Hein

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook