Opening Day Preview

05 November 2012

Besiktas Milangaz celebrating their win in the EuroChallenge 2012 Final
Besiktas Milangaz took the EuroChallenge crown in 2012, their first ever international title

The EuroChallenge Regular Season gets under way on Tuesday and even before the opening game tips off there is already a marked difference with last season's première, a year ago.

The competition system is exactly the same. There are again 32 teams at the starting blocks, divided in eight groups, and there will be a Final Four to decide the champion, as tradition dictates.

Unlike in the previous season however, no team begins its EuroChallenge campaign with the mindset that anything less than bringing the trophy home in the end of the season will be a failure.

Last year, Besiktas Milangaz were seeking redemption after failing to qualify to the Eurocup and had the likes of US international Deron Williams in their starting five when they took to the floor in their opener at ZZ Leiden.

Even when the superstar returned to New Jersey after the end of the NBA lockout, there was little doubt around Europe as to which was the team to watch every Tuesday night.

If any side rises to this status in the 2012/13 season, it will be a badge of honour to be earned on the court week in, week out.

There is no shortage of teams that aspire to that and there are definitely plenty with the potential to achieve it.

This sense that everything is up for grabs, combined with the fact that no one has to play under the enormous weight of expectation that Besiktas dealt with, could mean that we're in for an exciting EuroChallenge season.

Let's see what's on offer on the opening day of the Regular Season:

Opening Day Preview Groups A - D

Opening Day Preview Groups E - H


26.02.2013 - EUROCHALLENGE
26.02.2013 - EUROCHALLENGE
25.02.2013 - EUROCHALLENGE
20.02.2013 - EUROCHALLENGE

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook

Deurne, BEL
Limassol, CYP
Tbilisi, GEO
Timisoara, ROU
Pitesti, ROU
Ventspils, LAT
Nicosia, CYP
Oldenburg, GER
Medias, ROU
Gravelines, FRA
Holon, ISR
Dijon, FRA
Joensuu, FIN
Nicosia, CYP
Yuzhny, UKR
Körmend, HUN
Samara, RUS
Novo Mesto, SLO
Norrköping, SWE
Aalst, BEL
Levallois, FRA
Izmir, TUR
Nancy, FRA
Södertälje, SWE
Szolnok, HUN
Bursa, TUR
Minsk, BLR