Azerbaijan Division C Champions


Azerbaijan defeated Moldova on Sunday 80-78 to take home the title of European Champions, Division C.

Fuad Niftaliyev hit what would be the game winning three-pointer for Azerbaijan with 2:21 remaining on the clock.

Moldova cut the lead to one on a Eugeniu Scripcaru jumper but they were unable to tie the game and Niftaliyev hit one of two free throws with one second left on the clock to seal the victory.  

The Moldovans had a ten point lead at halftime but Azerbaijan began to chip away and outscored their opponents 18-9 in the fourth quarter.

Tahir Bakhshiyev led Azerbaijan with 25 points and eight rebounds to go with four assists.  He averaged 19 points per game in the tournament including a big 20 point performance to help eliminate hosts Scotland on Saturday.

Scripcaru led the way for Moldova with 25 points and 14 rebounds for his second straight double-double.


Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook