Fener Announce Jekabsone-Zogota Signing

15 January 2011
EuroLeague Women

23. Anete Jekabsone (Sparta&K M. R. Vidnoje)
Anete Jekabsone becomes the second huge reinforcement for the Turkish giants in the space of two weeks

Fenerbahce have confirmed that Anete Jekabsone-Zogota has joined the club after passing her medical.

The Latvia international and 2007 FIBA Europe Women's Player of the Year has left Sparta&K M.R. Vidnoje for the Turkish giants, who at 9-0 are the only unbeaten team in the EuroLeague Women.

Jekabsone-Zogota, 27, averaged 9.4 points in 21.9 minutes per game in the EuroLeague Women for the Russian team.

She becomes the second high-profile player after Angel McCoughtry to join Fener following Diana Taurasi's positive doping test.

The Istanbul outfit acquired USA star McCoughtry in a transfer from MKB Euroleasing Sopron before Christmas.

Taurasi, a four-time EuroLeague Women winner with Sparta&K before joining Fenerbahce this season, had her contract terminated by the Turkish team earlier this month.

Fenerbahce host UMMC Ekaterinburg (8-1) this week in a battle that will determine first place in Group B.

The Turkish side won the first meeting 73-67 in Russia, but UMMC didn't have Candace Parker at the time.

Parker, another USA international, resumed her basketball activities after rehabbing from shoulder and knee operations and joined UMMC after the winter break.

In her first EuroLeague Women game of the season on Wednesday, Parker led all scorers with 23 points in an 87-68 rout of Sopron.


21.04.2015 - EUROBASKET WOMEN 2015
16.03.2015 - EUROBASKET WOMEN 2015
27.03.2013 - EUROBASKET WOMEN 2013

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook

Vagos, POR
Holargos (Athens), GRE
Marijampole, LTU
Byron, GRE
Arad, ROU
Tallinn, EST
Raanana, ISR
Adana, TUR
Challes-les-Eaux, FRA
Vologda, RUS
Sfantu Gheorghe, ROU
Namur, BEL
Kursk, RUS
Ramla, ISR
Vilagarcia de Arousa, ESP
Istanbul, TUR
Gorzów Wielkopolski, POL
Gospic, CRO
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, ESP
Eivissa, ESP
Limassol, CYP
Trutnov, CZE
Sarajevo, BIH
Klaipeda, LTU
Ruzomberok, SVK
Târgoviste, ROU
Coimbra, POR
Nea Smirni, GRE
Durbrovnik, CRO
Kallithea - Athens, GRE
Rivas Vaciamadrid , ESP
Cesis, LAT
Solna, SWE
Szeged, HUN
Tarbes Cedex, FRA
Mondeville, FRA
Moscow, RUS
Podgorica, MNE
Belgrade, SRB