Austria, Ireland, FYROM and Denmark Shoot For Division A


Austria, Ireland, FYROM and Denmark have all taken the first step towards playing for EuroBasket 2007 in Spain. The 4 teams won their respective groups during qualification games in Division B

Ireland will take on Denmark and Austria will play FYROM in home and away games on 17th and 24th September. The 2 winners will play in Division A as of 2006.

Denmark has perhaps the easiest task of all the group winners as they were in the only group with 3 teams.

The Danes dropped their last game against Romania on the way to top spot in the group, but won their first 3 contests to ensure they would advance to the next round.

Denmark will have the tough task of taking on Ireland for a spot in Division A.

The Irish faltered slightly towards the end of their campaign, losing 76-57 to Switzerland, but a final game win against Slovakia in Dublin was enough for them to win the group.

FYROM were handed the most difficult job of all as they were drawn together with Finland and Georgia, 2 sides with legitimate hopes of winning the group.

FYROM went down to a Georgia side featuring NBA players Zaza Pachulia and Nikoloz Tskitishvili on 7th September, but bounced back to secure the group win with a home win against Finland.

Perhaps the biggest surprise group winner was Austria.

Featuring a team with an average age of 22, Austria made sure of their group win with a difficult away win over Belarus on 10th September.

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook