Hip Problem Sidelines Van Der Jonckheyd

9. Jef Van Der Jonckheyd (Belgium)
Jef Van Der Jonckheyd featured in seven Qualifying Round games last summer

Belgium will on Monday launch their preparations for the EuroBasket without forward Jef Van der Jonckheyd.

The captain is out with a hip injury and will not be able to play for the national team this summer.

The Belgians, who are led by veteran coach Eddy Casteels, qualified for this summer's big event with a first-place finish in Division A Group C last year.

Casteels will miss Van der Jonckheyd, who plays for him at club side Antwerp.

Belgium begin their workouts on Monday in Brussels and will remain there for a week.

Their first friendly will be on July 29 against Ivory Coast - the country that finished runners-up at Afrobasket 2009 and played at the FIBA World Championship.

Casteels' team will then travel to the United States and continue their training in Dallas, Texas, before heading north to Toronto, Canada.

While in North America, Belgium will have six practice games.

NBA center Didier M'Benga wasn't in the squad that qualified for the EuroBasket but has been named in the preliminary group.

Belgium preliminary squad: Christophe Beghin, Lionel Bosco, Maxime De Zeeuw, Marcus Faison, Pierre-Antoine Gillet, Axel Hervelle, Ioann Iarochevitch, Dimitri Lauwers, Domien Loubry, Niels Marnegrave, Didier M'Benga, Roel Moors, Guy Muya, Jean Marc Mwema, Randy Oveneke, Quentin Serron, Jorn Steinbach, Jonathan Tabu, Tomas Van den Spiegel, Sam Van Rossom.


23.07.2011 - EUROBASKET 2011

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook

Contern, LUX
Nicosia, CYP
Lausanne, SUI
Limassol, CYP
Székesfehérvar, HUN
Giessen, GER
Saratov, RUS
Ettelbruck, LUX
Aalst, BEL
Belgrade, SRB
Khimki, Moscow Region, RUS
Athens, GRE
Fribourg, SUI
Opava, CZE
Funchal, POR
Caceres, ESP
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, ESP
Siroki Brijeg, BIH
Cholet Cedex, FRA
Prague, CZE
Sofia, BUL
Pitesti, ROU
Mons, BEL
Würzburg, GER
Zagreb, CRO
Kadiköy-Istanbul, TUR
Ieper, BEL
Istanbul, TUR
Serravalle, SMR
Ljubljana, SLO
Trier, GER
Citluk, BIH
Espoo, FIN
Vrsac, YUG
Aleksandrovac, BIH
Kumanovo, MKD
Skopje, MKD
Polzela, SLO
Tuzla, BIH
Kranj, SLO
Novi Sad, SCG
Kouvola, FIN
Imola, ITA
Krasnodar, RUS
Tbilisi, GEO
Ramat Gan, ISR
Pruszkow, POL
Weissenfels, GER
Novy Jicin, CZE
Szolnok, HUN
Kapfenberg, AUT
Montecatini Terme, ITA
Skopje, MKD
Tetovo, MKD
Reggio Calabria, ITA
Limassol, CYP
Lisbon, POR
Sopot, POL
Luxembourg, LUX
Amsterdam, NED
Dijon, FRA
Grodno, BLR
Le Mans, FRA
Seixal, POR
Irkutsk, RUS
Södertälje, SWE
St. Petersburg, RUS
Ruda Slaska, POL
Strasbourg, FRA
Sundsvall, SWE
Varna, BUL
Trieste, ITA
Ankara, TUR
Oliveira de Azeméis, POR
St. Pölten, AUT
Malaga, ESP
Groningen, NED
Arad, ROU
Yambol, BUL