Giants Sink Bonn In Overtime

7. Bryan Hopkins (Antwerp Giants)
Bryan Hopkins led Antwerp Giants to overtime win with 19 points

Telekom Baskets Bonn's unbeaten record in Group H of the EuroChallenge came to an end in overtime as they lost 82-78 at home to the Antwerp Giants.

Bonn surrendered a five-point lead at the start of the fourth quarter, needing a late basket from Jonas Wohlfarth-Bottermann to force the extra period, and they could not use it as Antwerp pulled clear.

After Wohlfarth-Bottermann tied it up at 69-69, Antwerp might have won it in regulation but Bryan Hopkins' three-point attempt was off-target in the dying seconds.

Hopkins did better with his first shot of the extra period to edge the Giants in front and although they were far from perfect from the charity stripe, they began to creep away, with Jean Mwema making only one of his three free throws but nevertheless doing enough to make it 77-73 with 21 seconds left.

Patrick Ewing Jr. replied with a three-pointer to immediately cut the gap to one. 

Ralph Biggs went to the line for Antwerp and hit both shots to make it 79-76 with nine seconds left, and Benas Veikalas could not match him for Bonn, splitting his shots to leave the gap at two with five ticks left.

Hopkins would also make just one-of-two for Antwerp but the nerves were clearly getting to both teams, as Jared Jordan then did exactly the same for Bonn, leaving the gap at two with two seconds left.

That all but sealed it, but just to make sure, Timothy Black went to the line and held his nerve to sink two shots.

Hopkins led Antwerp with 17 points while Black had 13 and Biggs 12.

Robert Vaden had 19 points for Bonn with Ewing Jr. collecting 17, Jordan 14 and Wohlfarth-Bottermann 10.

The Giants level their record at 2-2 while Bonn drop to 3-1.


28.11.2012 - EUROCHALLENGE

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook

Deurne, BEL
Limassol, CYP
Tbilisi, GEO
Timisoara, ROU
Pitesti, ROU
Ventspils, LAT
Nicosia, CYP
Oldenburg, GER
Medias, ROU
Gravelines, FRA
Holon, ISR
Dijon, FRA
Joensuu, FIN
Nicosia, CYP
Yuzhny, UKR
Körmend, HUN
Samara, RUS
Novo Mesto, SLO
Norrköping, SWE
Aalst, BEL
Levallois, FRA
Izmir, TUR
Nancy, FRA
Södertälje, SWE
Szolnok, HUN
Bursa, TUR
Minsk, BLR