Paris Use Overtime To Punch Ticket

4. Sean May (Paris Levallois)
Sean May had a game-high 30-point, 11-rebound double-double for Paris Levallois, who booked a spot in the Last 16

Paris Levallois topped Mons-Hainaut in overtime to secure their place in the Last 16 of the EuroChallenge.

The Parisians had trailed for the vast majority of the game, but after staging a late rally to force an extra period, they made it count as Jawad Williams sank the winning shot with 37 seconds left.

Mons-Hainaut, who needed a win to stay in the hunt, raced out to a 23-8 lead, given to them by Jonathan Wallace's jump-shot, and led by double figures pretty much all the way until late in the third quarter.

It was not until early in the fourth quarter that Paris made any real headway, but back-to-back baskets from John Cox and Sean May made it 70-69 to the hosts with 5:34 remaining.

Paris took their first lead, 74-73, on an Andrew Albicy three with 4:22 left and it was Mons-Hainaut who needed the final basket of regulation - a lay-up from Quincy Taylor - to secure overtime, with Albicy missing a late chance to win it for Paris. 

The two teams could barely be separated in the extra period either. 

Paris led 88-85 after a pair of free throws from May with 87 seconds left, but Justin Cage hit a pair for the hosts and then followed it with a jump-shot to put them up 89-88, 55 ticks from time.

Williams then hit his lay-up, and Cage missed with a late three for Mons-Hainaut. 

May poured in 31 points and collected 11 rebounds for Paris, while Albicy had 19 and Williams 14.

Taylor had 25 points for the hosts, with Joshua Bostic and Brian Qvale adding 16 each, whilst Qvale also had 13 rebounds. Wallace collected 14, and Monwell Randle 10.


04.12.2012 - EUROCHALLENGE

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook

Izmir, TUR
Deurne, BEL
Limassol, CYP
Tbilisi, GEO
Timisoara, ROU
Pitesti, ROU
Ventspils, LAT
Nicosia, CYP
Oldenburg, GER
Medias, ROU
Gravelines, FRA
Holon, ISR
Dijon, FRA
Joensuu, FIN
Nicosia, CYP
Yuzhny, UKR
Körmend, HUN
Samara, RUS
Novo Mesto, SLO
Norrköping, SWE
Aalst, BEL
Levallois, FRA
Izmir, TUR
Rakvere, EST
Nancy, FRA
Södertälje, SWE
Szolnok, HUN
Tampere, FIN
Tartu, EST
Bursa, TUR
Minsk, BLR
Ekaterinburg, RUS
Klosterneuburg, AUT