Kataja Progress Despite Loss To Samara

24. Evgeny Kolesnikov (Krasnye Krylia)
Evgeny Kolesnikov added 10 points and 3 rebounds as Krasnye Krylia stayed perfect in the Regular Season

Joensuun Kataja went down to a 66-58 defeat to Krasnye Krylia Samara but progressed to the Last 16 of the EuroChallenge regardless as results went their way in Group B.

Kataja had put themselves in control of the battle for second place with victory over Keravnos last time out, and as CSU Asesoft Ploiesti topped Keravnos 90-87, they took second place despite the loss.

Samara, looking to finalise a perfect record in the group, controlled the contest before allowing Kataja to come back in the final 10 minutes.

The hosts scored the opening seven points of the contest and were up 13-2 on Chester Simmons' jump-shot.

Kataja stormed back, and after a 6-0 burst early in the second quarter they were back to within 20-18 on Jerald Fields' jumper.

But Viktor Zaryazhko's three started a 12-2 run to half-time that gave Krasnye Krylia a 35-23 lead.

It was 47-28 after a jump-shot from Aaron Miles midway through the third period, and 58-40 to start the final stanza as the Red Wings looked like cruising to the finish.

Kataja thought otherwise, however, and back-to-back threes from Antti Kanervo and Jermaine Flowers sparked a 12-1 run.

Petri Virtanen ended the game with a three for the visitors as they cut the deficit to a respectable eight.

Simmons led Samara with 15 points while Nikita Balashov and Evgeny Kolesnikov had 10 each.

Flowers poured in 18 for Kataja while Fields added 16 and Virtanen 10.


11.12.2012 - EUROCHALLENGE

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook

Izmir, TUR
Deurne, BEL
Limassol, CYP
Tbilisi, GEO
Timisoara, ROU
Pitesti, ROU
Ventspils, LAT
Nicosia, CYP
Oldenburg, GER
Medias, ROU
Gravelines, FRA
Holon, ISR
Dijon, FRA
Joensuu, FIN
Nicosia, CYP
Yuzhny, UKR
Körmend, HUN
Samara, RUS
Novo Mesto, SLO
Norrköping, SWE
Aalst, BEL
Levallois, FRA
Izmir, TUR
Rakvere, EST
Nancy, FRA
Södertälje, SWE
Szolnok, HUN
Tampere, FIN
Tartu, EST
Bursa, TUR
Minsk, BLR
Ekaterinburg, RUS
Klosterneuburg, AUT