Gaz Metan Edge Ekaterinburg To Qualify


6. Slobodan Dundjerski (Gaz Metan Medias)
Point guard Slobodan Dundjerski had 19 points for Gaz Metan Medias in their away win at Ekaterinburg

Gaz Metan Medias clinched a spot in the EuroChallenge Regular Season with a thrilling 97-92 triumph at Ural Ekaterinburg on Tuesday.

Beaten in the first leg last week at home, 69-67, the Romanian club did just enough in Russia to claim a three-point win on aggregate.

After going in front by as many as 14 on Tuesday for a 12-point lead overall in the tie, Gaz Metan saw the hosts close to 95-92 with nine seconds remaining on Anton Glazunov's three-ball.

Glazunov took his points haul to 26 with his fourth three-ball from six attempts which gave his team a life-line.

The visitors then allowed the door to open a little wider when Gaz Metan's Paul Graham missed two free-throws.

But Ural Ekaterinburg failed to box out Michael St. John, who grabbed the offensive rebound off the second miss.

The ball ended up in the hands off Graham with five seconds to go and once more, Ekaterinburg put him on the line.

This time, Graham sank both free-throws for the 97-92 final.

Gaz Metan shot the ball much better from long range, hitting 12 of 24 attempts while Ekaterinburg made just six of 21.

Five players hit double digits for the winners, including Graham with 26.

Deven Mitchell had 12 points and 11 rebounds for Gaz Metan, who will play in Group D against BC Khimik Yuzhne, Tartu University Rocket and JDA Dijon Basket.

The Regular season tips off on 6 November.

Dmitrii Nikolaev also weighed in with 22 points and eight rebounds in defeat.




Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook

Izmir, TUR
Deurne, BEL
Limassol, CYP
Tbilisi, GEO
Timisoara, ROU
Pitesti, ROU
Ventspils, LAT
Nicosia, CYP
Oldenburg, GER
Medias, ROU
Gravelines, FRA
Holon, ISR
Dijon, FRA
Joensuu, FIN
Nicosia, CYP
Yuzhny, UKR
Körmend, HUN
Samara, RUS
Novo Mesto, SLO
Norrköping, SWE
Aalst, BEL
Levallois, FRA
Izmir, TUR
Rakvere, EST
Nancy, FRA
Södertälje, SWE
Szolnok, HUN
Tampere, FIN
Tartu, EST
Bursa, TUR
Minsk, BLR
Ekaterinburg, RUS
Klosterneuburg, AUT