Myshkin Reveals Russian Roster

02 May 2014
7. Marina Karpunina (Spartak Noginsk)
Spartak Noginsk shooting guard Marina Karpunina is a surprise inclusion on the Russian preliminary roster

Recently appointed Russian head coach Anatoliy Myshkin has announced a 24-strong list of candidates as he prepares for this summer's EuroBasket Women 2015 2nd Qualifying Round.

Having been dumped out of EuroBasket Women 2013 at the first hurdle when defending their title, Russia suffered one of the most serious setbacks in their proud history as they also missed out on their usual place at the FIBA World Championship for Women.

Looking to restore pride and rebuild confidence, Myshkin has opted not to go with a naturalised player this year, something Russia have certainly used in previous years via Rebekka Hammon and Epiphanny Prince, the latter whom played in France.

There are three other notable omissions from the team which were left stunned in Vannes last year, with Ilona Korstin having retired and no place handed to either Liudmila Sapova or Natalia Vodopyanova.

The two big inclusions are Marina Karpunina who looks to be finally back to her best after a lengthy stretch of her career ravaged by injuries.

She has just posted a stunning individual year in the Russian Premier League for struggling Spartak Noginsk and has no doubt impressed Myshkin with her renaissance.

Meanwhile Natalia Zhedik is available for selection again having initially been expected to be unavailable due to family reasons.

Russia will face Netherlands and Sweden in the fight to punch a ticket for the Final Round which will be jointly hosted by Hungary and Romania next year.

The full roster is as follows: Tatiana Abrikosova (Dynamo Moscow), Natalia Anoikina (Nadezhda Orenburg), Olga Arteshina (UMMC Ekaterinburg), Evgenia Belyakova (Sparta&K M.R. Vidnoje), Tatiana Vidmer (Dynamo Moscow), Natalia Vieru (Sparta&K M.R. Vidnoje), Julia Gladkova (Sparta&K M.R. Vidnoje), Nadezhda Grishaeva (Dynamo Moscow), Veronika Dorosheva (Dynamo Moscow), Natalia Zhedik (Nadezhda Orenburg), Marina Karpunina (Spartak Noginsk), Marina Kuzina (Nadezhda Orenburg), Kseniia Levchenko (Sparta&K M.R. Vidnoje), Anastasia Loginova (Dynamo Moscow), Anastasia Logunova (Chevakata Vologda), Valeriya Musina (Polkowice), Daria Namok (Sparta&K M.R. Vidnoje), Irina Osipova (Good Angels Kosice), Liubov Paskalenko (Dynamo Novosibirsk), Anna Petrakova (UMMC Ekaterinburg), Tatiana Petrushina (Chevakata Vologda), Irina Sokolovskaya (Dynamo Moscow), Ksenia Tikhonenko (Sparta&K M.R. Vidnoje), Ekaterina Fedorenkova (Dynamo Moscow)


13.06.2015 - EUROBASKET WOMEN 2015
19.03.2015 - FEATURE
26.06.2014 - PRESS RELEASES

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook