BC Dynamo Moscow Region, Lavezzini, Faenza and Dynamo Moscow Prevail

22 February 2007

The first game of the quarter-finals produced four double-digit victories.

BC Dynamo Moscow Region prevailed 67-42 over Nadezhda behind a stellar defensive performance.

The Moscow-based squad limited Nadezhda to 31 percent shooting from two-point range and 17 percent from beyond the arch.

“I am very happy with today’s game,” said BC Dynamo Moscow Region head coach Alexadner Vasin.

“I can’t recall another game when our opponent was able to score just 42 points.”

Olympia Ranee Scott (BC Dynamo Moscow Region)
Olympia Scott keyed BC Dynamo Moscow Region's win.
Olympia Scott led the way for the victors with 17 points.

Dynamo Moscow took down Anda Ramat Hasharon 68-57, thanks in part to their strong starts in the first and third quarters.

Dynamo jumped out to a 23-11 advantage after one quarter and increased their lead to 54-37 going into the fourth.

But Anda got back into the game in the fourth quarter by outscoring their opponents 20-4.

Despite the opening loss, Anda will look to carry the momentum from their fourth quarter performance into game two of the best-of-two series in which the winner of the combined two games advances to the semis.

Five players scored in double digits for Dynamo, led by Oxana Rakhmatulina and Nuria Martinez who both finished with 12 points.

Lavezzini Basket marched to a convincing 86-61 victory over Taranto Cras Basket.

Emilija Podrug scored 10 of her 22 points in the second quarter in which Lavezzini took control by outscoring Taranto 31-15.

Faenza concluded quarter-final action with a 101-44 thumping of Chevakata.

Simona Ballardini led the offensive assault with 23 points.

The quarter-finals resume on March 1.


Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook