Quarter-Final Matchups Decided

07 February 2008

Eight clubs representing five countries will fight it out in the quarter-final playoffs for a spot in the EuroCup Women 2008 semi-finals.

Israel, Russia and Italy all have two clubs each in the last eight of the competition.

The quarter-finals matchups were decided after a round of upsets in the eighth-finals return legs.

Israeli clubs provided the round's most notable results. Elitzur Ramla completed the elimination of MBK Ruzomberok with a 70-62 win on the road while Electra Ramat-Hasharon's comeback stunned Extrugasa.

Elitzur Ramla will now meet Levoni Taranto who overcame Gorzow. Electra will face Galatasaray Istanbul.

BC Moscow thumped Panionios for a second time to set up an all-Russian tie against Chevakata who had shocked Umana Reyer Venezia in Italy the night before.

Gospic ousted Botas Spor with a pair of victories and will now play Beretta-Famila Schio whose loss at Nadezhda was without any consequences as the Italians held a clear advantage from the first leg.

BC Moscow, Beretta-Famila Schio, Levoni Taranto and Galatasaray, as the higher ranked teams, will play the first leg of their quarter-finals away.

The first games are scheduled for 21st February with the return legs to be played a week later, on 28th February.

The quarter-final playoff pairings:

Gospic Croatia vs. Beretta-Famila Schio

Chevakata vs. BC Moscow

Elitzur Ramla vs. Levoni Taranto

Electra Ramat-Hasharon vs. Galatasaray Istanbul

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook

Ptolemaida, GRE
Arad, ROU
Moscow, RUS
Sarajevo, BIH
Schio, ITA
Istanbul, TUR
Angra do Heroismo, POR
Adana, TUR
Dnipropetrovs'k, UKR
Funchal, POR
Polkowice, POL
Challes-les-Eaux, FRA
Vologda, RUS
Kursk, RUS
Ramat-Hasharon, ISR
Ramla, ISR
Hemsange, LUX
Vilagarcia de Arousa, ESP
Vlore, ALB
Vienna, AUT
Istanbul, TUR
Gorzów Wielkopolski, POL
Gospic, CRO
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, ESP
Hondarribia, ESP
Limassol, CYP
Trutnov, CZE
Zaporozhye, UKR
Taranto, ITA
Ruzomberok, SVK
Orenburg, RUS
Stockholm, SWE
Nea Smirni, GRE
Kayseri, TUR
Les Milles, FRA
Tylorstown, WAL
Szeged, HUN
Tarbes Cedex, FRA
Wasserburg, GER
Funchal, POR
Zalaegerszeg, HUN
Podgorica, MNE
Novi Sad, SRB