Division C Hosts Luxembourg To Celebrate Anniversary


Luxembourg will use the occasion of hosting this year's European Championship Women Division C to celebrate the Luxembourg Basketball Federation's (FLBB) 75th anniversary.

FLBB was awarded the tournament by FIBA Europe, to run July 7-12, 2008.

"We want to celebrate our federation's anniversary with our players, coaches and officials on the court," commented Marion Grethen, president of FLBB.

The tournament will take place at the Coque Gymnase, a modern arena in Luxembourg City with a high-quality wooden floor and a 1,500 capacity.

Albania, Andorra, Azerbaijan, Gibraltar, Malta, Scotland, Wales and hosts Luxembourg will play in two qualifying round groups, before the semi-finals on Friday, July 11 and the finals on Saturday, July 12.

Three additional youth international tournaments, to take place in Luxembourg in the period 16-20 July 2008, are also part of the celebrations for the 75th anniversary of the country's governing body of basketball:

A U20 Men tournament at the Coque Gymnase arena, Luxembourg City, in which Lithuania, Spain, Russia, France, Turkey and Luxembourg are the participating teams.

A U18 Women "Partnership" tournament at the Coque Gymnase arena in Luxembourg City, featuring Germany, England, Netherlands, Slovenia, Ireland and Luxembourg.

And finally a U16 Women "Partnership" Tournament, July 16th-20th, at the Wiltz Sportcenter in the town of Wiltz, where Luxembourg will take on the Netherlands and Ireland.

(Pictured: Luxembourg's senior women national team with FLBB president Marion Grethen)

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook