Khimik Top Medias To Reach Last 16

11 December 2012
9. Willie Deane (Khimik)
Led Khimik to top spot in Group D with 17 points: Willie Deane

Khimik Yuzhne will join Gaz Metan Medias in the last 16 of the EuroChallenge after beating the Romanians 89-66 in their final Group D game.

Medias were already assured of progression while Khimik needed a win to be sure of advancing, and they quickly set about their goal with a dominant first half.

Khimik finished the first quarter on a 14-5 run to go 22-13 up on Oleksandr Sizov's three-pointer.

Then in the second quarter they scored nine unanswered points to lead 33-17 after a jump-shot from Suad Sehovic.

There was little let up in the third quarter and another jumper from Sehovic stretched the advantage to 60-34 with 6:16 left in the period, capping an 8-0 spurt.

The lead grew to a peak of 27, at 71-44, shortly before the end of the third quarter, and it was Sehovic again on the fast-break after Ivan Ivanovic came up empty with a three-pointer for Medias.

Willie Deane led Khimik with 17 points while Devoe Joseph had 13. Sehovic finished with 12 points and 11 rebounds, while Sava Lesic and Artem Pustovyi also had 12 points each.

Aleksandar Mladenovic led Medias with 17 points while Slobodan Dundjerski had 15 and Rares Mandache 14.

The win kept Khimik unbeaten at home as they improved to 4-2, the same record as their defeated opponents.

Thanks to the big win, Khimik take first spot in the group, having lost the reverse fixture by a mere two points, 88-86.


26.02.2013 - EUROCHALLENGE
25.02.2013 - EUROCHALLENGE
20.02.2013 - EUROCHALLENGE
19.02.2013 - EUROCHALLENGE

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook

Izmir, TUR
Deurne, BEL
Limassol, CYP
Tbilisi, GEO
Timisoara, ROU
Pitesti, ROU
Ventspils, LAT
Nicosia, CYP
Oldenburg, GER
Medias, ROU
Gravelines, FRA
Holon, ISR
Dijon, FRA
Joensuu, FIN
Nicosia, CYP
Yuzhny, UKR
Körmend, HUN
Samara, RUS
Novo Mesto, SLO
Norrköping, SWE
Aalst, BEL
Levallois, FRA
Izmir, TUR
Rakvere, EST
Nancy, FRA
Södertälje, SWE
Szolnok, HUN
Tampere, FIN
Tartu, EST
Bursa, TUR
Minsk, BLR
Ekaterinburg, RUS
Klosterneuburg, AUT