KRKA Beat Szolnok In Adriatic League

08 October 2012
Edo Muric, KRKA Novo Mesto
Edo Muric took part in the EuroChallenge Final Four 2011 with KRKA and is now a senior national team player with Eurobasket experience under his belt

Former EuroChallenge winners KRKA Novo Mesto and last year's Final Four hosts Szolnoki Olaj are in the competition again in 2012-13.

The two outfits are also taking part in the Adriatic League and they met in the opening round.

Slovenians KRKA won the clash, 71-56, after racing into a 24-12 advantage by the end of the first quarter.

Jaka Klobucar, a player in the Slovenia national team over the years, had 13 points for KRKA.

Hungarians Szolnoki bounced back to win their next game at home over Cibona Zagreb, 75-71.

Brandon Gay poured in 20 points and Marton Bader 18 for Peter Por's side.

Partizan brought KRKA back down to earth, romping to a 79-60 victory in Belgrade, in their second-round meeting.

Dejan Musli scored 15 points for Partizan in that win and Edo Muric had 16 in defeat.

Over the weekend, Szolnoki very nearly got a second win in the Adriatic League but fell in double overtime at Siroki, 102-101.

In the third round game, Bader was sensational for the Hungarian team, scoring 40 points on 17 of 19 shooting from the floor.

"In this league, we are taking it step by step," Szolnoki coach Por said.

"Play well at home. What is important for me is that we played well away against a strong team. We showed that we compete."

Bader says that the Adriatic League is a significant challenge for his side, but believes the team is growing in confidence.

"We're playing better and better," he said.


12.12.2012 - EUROCHALLENGE
11.12.2012 - EUROCHALLENGE

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook

Izmir, TUR
Deurne, BEL
Limassol, CYP
Tbilisi, GEO
Timisoara, ROU
Pitesti, ROU
Ventspils, LAT
Nicosia, CYP
Oldenburg, GER
Medias, ROU
Gravelines, FRA
Holon, ISR
Dijon, FRA
Joensuu, FIN
Nicosia, CYP
Yuzhny, UKR
Körmend, HUN
Samara, RUS
Novo Mesto, SLO
Norrköping, SWE
Aalst, BEL
Levallois, FRA
Izmir, TUR
Rakvere, EST
Nancy, FRA
Södertälje, SWE
Szolnok, HUN
Tampere, FIN
Tartu, EST
Bursa, TUR
Minsk, BLR
Ekaterinburg, RUS
Klosterneuburg, AUT