Kalev Tallinn 99 ECM Nymburk 96


Faced with the danger of becoming the only team without a win in the FIBA Europe League, Kalev Tallinn finished an eight-game losing streak with a sweet 99-96 overtime victory against ECM Nymburk.

Another two points for Gregor Arbet with a powerful slam dunk
It was by far the best performance by the Estonian club that has lost all previous eight games in FIBA Europe League by at least 13 points and has also fallen to the last place in Estonian league.

Led by rising star Gregor Arbet, guards Troy Coleman, Mark Shein and young center Heiko Niidas, Kalev led 22-19 after the first quarter and kept the score even at halftime (45-45). Even 19 points in the first half from Jiri Zidek were not enough to give Nymburk a lead.

Nymburk twice got ahead by six points in the third quarter, but a great dunk by Arbet made it 67-65 for Kalev as the quarter buzzer sounded.

Neither of the two teams led by more than three points thereafter. A fast break by Coleman made it 86-83 for Kalev with 15 seconds to go and seemed to secure the win, but Zidek answered with a three-pointer with 4,6 seconds left to force overtime.

In overtime, Heiko Niidas gave Kalev the final lead - his two free-throws made it 97-96 with 28,3 seconds left. After a missed three-pointer by Jiri Novotny, it was Coleman's turn to go to the free throw line. With four seconds to go, he made both attempts to end the scoring - 99-96. A last-second desperation three-pointer by Nymburk barely hit the rim.

Arbet and Coleman led Kalev with 26 points apiece. Niidas added 16 points, Priit Ilver 12 points and 13 rebounds. Zidek scored 34 and Ashante Johnson had 23 points for Nymburk.

Game-MVP: Gregor Arbet


Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook

Wloclawek, POL
Thessaloniki, GRE
Mariupol, UKR
Levallois, FRA
Alytus, LTU
Khimki, Moscow Region, RUS
Kyiv, UKR
Siroki Brijeg, BIH
Mons, BEL
Moscow, RUS
Nymburk, CZE
Limassol, CYP
Bamberg, GER
Peristeri, GRE
Tel Aviv, ISR
Espoo, FIN
Vrsac, SCG
Novi Sad, SCG
Odessa, UKR
Warsaw, POL
Riga, LAT
Nancy, FRA
Le Havre, FRA
Nahariya, ISR
Tallinn, EST
Oostende, BEL
Maroussi-Athens, GRE
Ankara, TUR
Kazan, RUS
Perm, RUS